The Help by Kathryn Stockett

I know that I’m probably the last person to read The Help so I’ll keep this short. I had read many reviews of this, as far as I can remember all positive, so I had very high expectations. Unsurprisingly, I loved it.

I really liked that there are three narrators, three very different women. I enjoyed the very different styles the author employed for each woman’s chapters. The story is incredible, very touching and thought-provoking, I was hooked right from the start. So if you haven’t read The Help yet, please do, I’m sure you will love it as much as I did.

I can’t resist including some of my favourite passages from this book:

“”Be nice to the little colored girls when you’re down there,” Mother said to me one time and I remember looking at her funny, saying, “Why wouldn’t I be?” But Mother never explained.”

“I’ve never seen Aibileen in anything but her whites. Tonight she has on a green dress with black piping. I can’t help but notice, she stands a little taller in her own house.”

“Then there is Stuart at the house. From the minute he walks in, I am protected, exempt. Mother won’t critisize me in front of him, for fear he might notice my flaws himself. She won’t nag me in front of him because she knows I’d act badly, whine. Short my chances. It’s all a big game to Mother, to show only one side of me, that the real me shouldn’t come out until after it’s “too late.””

6 thoughts on “The Help by Kathryn Stockett

  1. Lucia says:

    I’ll be the very last person to read it. 😉
    It’s good to know that The Help lived up to your high expectations because, after reading so many good reviews, I have high expectations too!

  2. Kristie says:

    I just started reading The Help yesterday. I hadn’t paid it any attention when it was released, but when you mentioned it at the beginning of March I actually added it to my TBR list 🙂 I’m glad you liked it! I just finished the first six chapters (so I’ve finished the first chapters from each narrator) and I’m really liking it so far 😀

Leave a comment