Bookworm’s best books of 2011

Everyone who knows me, knows I can’t make a decision to save my life so choosing my favourite books from 2011 is truly very hard.It’s been a very good year reading-wise, and I can’t really say I disliked any of the books I read (see the full list here).

But anyway, these are my top five books of 2011:

5. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

I felt like I was the last person in the world to read this. I tend to avoid books that have a lot of hype around them but I’m really glad I read this one.

4. The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown

This was a very pleasant surprise. I picked it up at the library, because I liked the cover. I mean, it’s a girl in a pretty dress lying on the floor, surrounded by books and the quote in the back says something like “There’s no problem a library card can’t solve.” How was I supposed to resist? Anyway, I really enjoyed reading this very bookish story and am looking forward to reading more by Brown.

3. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

Atwood is a new to me author that I really liked. This isn’t a happy, pleasant story but it is beautiful nonetheless. Plus, I really liked the fact that there’s a book interwoven within the book, making it an even more interesting story.

2. The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber

I liked this book even though it was disturbing and grim at times. It’s really quite a story, and despite its size it kept me interested and eager to find out what happened to the very memorable characters. I also really loved all the little details of everyday Victorian life that went into it.

1. The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende

This was the first book I read in 2011, and the first book by Allende I ever read. It’s a masterpiece and I loved it. I thought it was a great story, was brilliantly written and if you haven’t read it I recommend that you do as soon as possible.

What were your favourite books of 2011? Have you read any of my best books? What did you think of them?

3 thoughts on “Bookworm’s best books of 2011

Leave a comment

