From my kitchen: Lemon and rosemary scones

I know this flavour combination sounds a bit weird for sweet things, but I promise you these scones are divine. And they don’t taste like roast chicken!

I’ve mentioned before that I get incredibly strong lemon cravings, so I’m always looking for new recipes, sweet and savoury, to cook with lemons. Recently, I started seeing recipes for lemon and rosemary cakes on Pinterest which inspired me. The combination of lemon and rosemary is one of my favourites in cooking, so I decided to be brave and try it out in baking too. I think it works extremely well in these scones.

Lemon and rosemary scones @ alittleadventure.net

These are traditional English scones, perfectly crumbly and ideal for a tea party (even if the party is just you, eating scones and drinking tea alone in your kitchen), but they are extra zingy and fragrant. And they are so easy to make!

Lemon and rosemary scones @ alittleadventure.net

First, heat the oven to 220C/200C fan/gas 6 and line and lightly grease a large baking tray. In a large bowl, rub the flour, 1⁄4 tsp salt and the butter together with your fingertips until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.

Lemon and rosemary scones @ alittleadventure.net

Add the caster sugar, lemon zest, and chopped rosemary, and stir with a cutlery knife.

Lemon and rosemary scones @ alittleadventure.net

Mix together the buttermilk and milk and add the liquid in a well in the centre of the flour mix. Use your cutlery knife to combine the mixture as a soft dough. Be careful to not over-mix as this might make the scones dense and heavy.

Lemon and rosemary scones @ alittleadventure.net

Tip onto a floured work surface and pat the dough out to a 2.5cm thickness. There’s no need to use a rolling pin, just roughly pat it down with your fingers.

Lemon and rosemary scones @ alittleadventure.net

Lemon and rosemary scones @ alittleadventure.net

Use a 5cm cookie cutter to stamp out the scones. Try to not twist as you cut, as this will stop the scones rising to their full potential. Any scraps of dough can be gently pushed back together to make more scones.

Lemon and rosemary scones @ alittleadventure.net

Place the scones on the baking tray and bake for 10 mins until they are nice and golden, then leave to cool.

Lemon and rosemary scones @ alittleadventure.net

While the scones are cooling, mix the icing sugar with enough lemon juice to make a thick but runny icing.

Lemon and rosemary scones @ alittleadventure.net

Lemon and rosemary scones @ alittleadventure.net

Add lemon zest and a bit more chopped rosemary to the icing and give it a stir. Drizzle over the scones. Enjoy! The scones are really tasty on their own, but they are even better cut in half with a generous lick of butter on each and a cup of tea to accompany them. Perfection!

Here’s the recipe if you want to print it out. It makes 14 mini scones.

Lemon and rosemary scones @ alittleadventure.net

24 thoughts on “From my kitchen: Lemon and rosemary scones

  1. Kay says:

    Oh, I bet these are majorly delicious! I love lemon too, well, any citrus flavor except orange. Not so fond of oranges. The scones look amazing and I bet they smell even better. Lovely!

  2. Katherine @ I Wish I Lived in a Library says:

    These sound delicious! I’ve been craving lemon stuff lately as well which is unfortunate for me as I’m the only person in my house who really loves lemon and I don’t need to eat an entire pan of lemon squares on my own! This looks like it might be a good substitute. I like the idea of a solitary scone party with plenty of tea, scones and a book!

  3. heavenhappens says:

    Goodness me – icing on a scone! My old Geordie mum in austerity Britain will turn in her grave, bless her! Scones were her forte- mainly cheese scones of every shape. She would turn empty milk bottles upside down over a cup to save every last dribble for her scones which were famous.
    I’m sure my hubby – who would have icing on his porridge if I let him- will enjoy your scones!
    Thanks for the memories you conjured up – oh and the recipe!!

  4. Maree says:

    Ohhhh they look soooo good! I’m not the baker in the family but I’m sure I could persuade hubby to make those! 🙂

    • Maria says:

      Ooh thanks for the tip! I didn’t know this; actually when I baked the scones I worried they were too crowded in the baking tray but I was too lazy to grease another one. They did indeed rise wonderfully.

  5. Trish says:

    I think the icing is enough to convince me to try them but I admit that I’m having a tough time wrapping my head around rosemary and lemon together in a sweeter dish! I do love the smell of both, though (and of course use both a lot in my more savory dishes).

    • Maria says:

      I was hesitant too! But they are really really good. And I had others taste them to verify that I wasn’t crazy! You could easily halve or quarter the recipe and make a very small batch to try them out.

  6. Beth F says:

    I adore rosemary and I adore lemon and I adore scones .. sooooooooo yes. I think these would awesome!

Leave a comment

