Sartorial musings – The Blair Waldorf shirt

We’ve been talking recently about clothes we love and it seems to be the general consensus that days when we are wearing our favourite clothes are a little bit happier. Last week, I confessed that I found myself in a bit of a rut and decided to try to have more fun with my wardrobe.

Well, something wonderful happened that further motivated me to make a little effort and mix it up. On one of my late night Ebay trawls – what, am I the only one who does that? – I was looking for sparkly vintage necklaces but got a bit sidetracked and found a real gem. To the untrained eye, it was just a stripy shirt from an old Zara collection. But not to me! I immediately recognised it as the shirt Blair Waldorf wears in the very first episode of Gossip Girl. I don’t know about you, but watching Gossip Girl episodes is one of my guilty pleasures, and by now I’ve watched it so many times that I have a mental catalogue of Blair’s outfits.

The Blair Waldorf shirt @ alittleadventure.net

As good fate had it, I managed to pick the shirt up for a song, in perfect condition and in my size. Don’t you just love it when things just work out perfectly? I was so impatient waiting for it to be delivered and I believe I did a little dance when the parcel arrived. It instantly earned a place among “my favourites”! I really like the little ruffle detail, I think it makes it look rather fancy. I’ve been wearing it a lot; it’s as easy and comfortable as wearing a t-shirt, but it looks so much more special and makes me feel more dressed up and put together. A very good start for my 2nd Wardrobe Resolution!

Tell me, have you been trying to add a bit more fun to your outfits? Any recent additions to your favourite clothes?

Leave a comment

