Sartorial musings – Wardrobe fun

These days, I mostly work from home, with the occasional visit to the library or a coffee shop for a change of scene. I could basically write my entire thesis in pyjamas. I do make the effort to change into proper clothes every morning as it makes me more productive (and it also makes me feel I’m like the normal people, you know, who have jobs and stuff), but most days I’m quite lazy with my outfit choices. It’s usually some variation of the ‘jeans and a t-shirt’ theme. While that’s fine, it’s also boring.

I’ve been thinking a lot about it. I have a lot of clothes that I think are cute and yet most days I go for the same old boring combinations. Do you do the same? I know that many people enjoy wearing basically the same thing every day, it actually gives them comfort and confidence and one less thing to worry about. For me, I think it’s because I feel there’s no need to ‘dress up’ so I don’t bother to make the extra effort, and at the back of my mind there’s also that silly idea of saving things for best or not wanting to waste a cute outfit on a boring day. Are you guilty of thinking like this? Tell me I’m not alone!

It’s a surprisingly stubborn mentality to change, this impulse to not enjoy things in the present and save them for some hypothetical day in the future. But I don’t want to wait for that special occasion; after all, I’m trying to see every day as a special occasion, as a little adventure! And why not dress up for it? Wearing basically the same outfit every day doesn’t make me happy. I’d like to take the clothes that I love, the ones that are “my favourite”, and try out different combinations. I want to try combining different patterns, wear colourful outfits, add whimsical accessories to my plain jeans and t-shirts outfits, get more wear out of my beloved Breton and polka-dot tops, and add more sparkle to my every day. I want my clothes to look fun, not be yawn-inducing.

wardrobefun1


So I decided to make this simple statement my second Wardrobe Resolution:

“I will have fun with my wardrobe.”


I mentioned last week that the days when I’m wearing my favourite clothes are just that little bit happier. I’m hoping that following through with this resolution will make them even happier. Or at the very least more colourful and bright.

I don’t expect to look like the girls on Pinterest any time soon but I am looking forward to getting out of my style rut. I’m hoping getting dressed in the morning will be a little bit more fun and it will mean starting the day on a positive, happy note. I’d love to hear your thoughts. Do you try new things with your clothes or end up wearing the same things over and over again? Are your clothes a source of fun or frustration? How do you go about choosing what you wear every day.

P.S. I made the collage using images taken from my Style Inspiration board on Pinterest.

5 thoughts on “Sartorial musings – Wardrobe fun

  1. Iris says:

    “I’ve been thinking a lot about it. I have a lot of clothes that I think are cute and yet most days I go for the same old boring combinations. Do you do the same? I know that many people enjoy wearing basically the same thing every day, it actually gives them comfort and confidence and one less thing to worry about. For me, I think it’s because I feel there’s no need to ‘dress up’ so I don’t bother to make the extra effort, and at the back of my mind there’s also that silly idea of saving things for best or not wanting to waste a cute outfit on a boring day. Are you guilty of thinking like this? Tell me I’m not alone!”

    You are definitely not alone!

    Actually, reading this post and your previous one in combination with Trish’ post I have been looking into the capsule wardrobe idea and I am currently pondering how to reorganise for the upcoming few months. I am trying to let go of the “I’ll save this for a special occasion” idea and actually dress pretty even when I am at home staring at my laptop for the thesis. We were considering buying another closet for our clothes (our new house came with a small and not very convenient walk-in closet), but I have convinced the boyfriend to put that on hold while I try to go the capsule wardrobe way instead and pack up the winter clothes. I think going by a “wearing these [nr] items for the upcoming 3 months” might actually make it a lot easier to declutter the shelves and also to pick out combinations that I like and do not require a lot of thought. Let’s hope it works.

    • Maria says:

      Yes! Let’s put an end to saving things for special occasions! Maybe dressing up will make the thesis writing a bit easier as well? 😉
      Let me know how your decluttering goes.

  2. Trish says:

    Bahahaha–Ok, so the comment that I just left on your other post basically answers this: silly idea of saving things for best or not wanting to waste a cute outfit on a boring day. GAH. It’s insane, isn’t it? Totally illogical. And you know, I do this with everything…especially books. I save books that I think will be amazing for later. WHY NOT NOW?

    Anyway, yes–like you I’m also trying to do the same. I’ve been texting pictures of my outfit of the day to a friend (and she does the same) and I’ve found that even that little thing has helped me put more effort into what I’m wearing on any given day–more to trying to put together an outfit or a look rather than just wearing tired clothes.

    Love these posts Maria!

    • Maria says:

      Thank you Trish!

      I noticed that this whole “saving things for best” mentality goes further than just my wardrobe. I have these really nice teacups that I love and yet never use. I don’t know what I’m waiting for, the Queen coming for tea perhaps? So silly.

      I like your idea of texting outfit pictures to a friend. Just a little way to help keep you accountable and nudge you to make a bit of effort.

Leave a comment

