From my kitchen: Greek baked eggs

This is a recipe I adapted from a couple of recipes I found in Breakfast for Dinner by Lindsay Landis & Taylor Hackbarth. I’ve joined Trish’s Cookbook Challenge which has given me some extra motivation to actually cook stuff from the cookbooks I own. It makes a nice change from finding most of my recipes online.

bookworm_cookbook1

Breakfast for dinner is such an awesome concept, isn’t it? I mean, every once in a while, it’s just so comforting to have breakfast at any time of the day. So I really like the concept of this cookbook but most importantly, it has some really great recipes.

bookworm_bakedeggs9

This is what my dinner last night looked like and it was delicious! I decided to use up stuff we had at home and this turned out to be just the thing. I basically combined a recipe for Shakshuka and another one for Greek baked eggs.

bookworm_bakedeggs1

This meal, like most great things in life, starts with heating up some olive oil over medium-high heat and throwing in some finely chopped garlic.

bookworm_bakedeggs2

Once the garlic is golden brown add a tin of diced tomatoes, a little bit of dried chilli flakes, some oregano, and season with salt and pepper. You can also add a splash of balsamic vinegar too. Then, lower the heat so that the sauce is lightly simmering.

bookworm_bakedeggs3v bookworm_bakedeggs4

With the sauce happily cooking away, chop some pitted Kalamata olives and some feta. add the olives to the sauce.

bookworm_bakedeggs5

Preheat the oven at 180 degrees Celsius and place two ramekins each with a little pat of butter inside on a baking tray on the middle shelf. If you are making this for more people use a larger ceramic pan or a skillet instead of ramekins. After about 10 minutes the sauce should be ready, check the seasoning. Bring the ramekins out and divide the sauce into the ramekins.

bookworm_bakedeggs5

Crack two eggs in each ramekin and put them back in the oven for 8Β to 10 minutes.

bookworm_bakedeggs7

When the eggs are cooked, top the ramekins with the feta and put back in the oven for another minute or two.

bookworm_bakedeggs8

Finally, top with some freshly ground pepper, some chopped parsley and a bit of sea salt.

bookworm_bakedeggs10And that’s all there is to it! This is a very simple meal, easy to make as a meal forΒ one or to feed a crowd. It really is so good! I served it with some lime and pepperΒ tortilla chips (you can find the recipe here) and a nice crispy salad.

Here’s the printable recipe:

bakedeggs.001

8 thoughts on “From my kitchen: Greek baked eggs

  1. Trish says:

    I LOVE Breakfast for Dinner but the kids don’t get it (and Scott doesn’t either). Hopefully when they’re older. I actually have this cookbook but I’ve yet to crack it open. Sheesh! Those eggs look beautiful!

  2. Sarah (Sarah's Book Shelves) says:

    What a gorgeous and unique dish! I love breakfast for dinner…my mom used to do that when we were kids and I know give my kiddos scrambled eggs for dinner on nights when I don’t really have anything prepared. I also have scrambled eggs for dinner or “clean out the fridge” omelets on nights my husband is away.

  3. Christina says:

    Your outcome looks exactly like the book pictures! I’m impressed.

    I’m not a big breakfast for dinner person, but that’s because it’s always been sold to me as having pancakes for dinner. I could certainly get behind having eggs, especially ones that look as yummy as yours.

  4. Lu says:

    This looks SO good. I love tomato sauce and eggs in any variation, but with the feta?? Yummmm. Also love breakfast for dinner. Breakfast for lunch. Breakfast for a midnight snack. You get the idea πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment

