Oh these summer days!

bookworm_sd4 bookworm_sd2 bookworm_sd3 bookworm_sd1 bookworm_sd6 bookworm_sd5There’s nothing I love more on a summer’s day than a long walk in the countryside with The Boy. I think I’m at my happiest when I’m standing in a middle of a green field, with blue sky and white clouds above and gentle rolling hills all around me. I simply can’t tell you how much I love the big, beautiful countryside skies; these pictures really don’t do them justice.

It’s often startling to me: a day that includes mud, hay-fever, tired limbs, and stinging nettles wouldn’t be high up on my list of happy things a few years ago. And yet now, when I come home all tired and muddy after a long walk I feel rejuvenated. It’s these days that fill my heart with joy!

4 thoughts on “Oh these summer days!

  1. Trish says:

    I love your sentiments and the pictures but I don’t know that I share the reality. Although it is blazing hot here and I’m prone to mosquito bites. Lovely pictures, though! I love large billowy clouds.

    • bookworm says:

      Oh I should have said that it’s only in England that I feel this way. Here summer days tend to be pleasant and warm. Back home, summer days that are not spent at the beach can be sweaty, miserable affairs.

  2. Rosie says:

    You can’t beat a walk in a place like this, can you? 🙂 My absolute favourite thing to do in summer is to just get out and walk! Lovely post!

Leave a comment

