100HAPPYDAYS – First month update

So it’s been a month since I’ve joined the 100HAPPYDAYS challenge on my Instagram and I must say I think it’s amazing! I basically didn’t over-think it and joined on a whim but there have been some very pleasant surprises along the way.

bookworm_happy

First of all, I’m surprised I stuck with it. So far, there hasn’t been a day when I didn’t find something that made me happy and share a picture of it. As a life-long quitter of projects it thrills me when I find something I don’t abandon after the initial excitement wears off.

When I joined, I thought that there would be days when I would fake it. Sure, when I’m out in the beautiful countryside on a sunny day, the only problem is choosing one picture to share. But I couldn’t imagine that I would find anything worthy on those blah days, or even worse, on bad days. I thought that this would make me either give up or fake it. But I was wrong! With the challenge always in the back of my mind, I found that particularly on exhausting, never-ending days from hell, I would pay more attention to the little things and appreciate even the tiniest happiness-inducing moment all the more. Which is the whole point of this challenge, I think.

Another surprising discovery is that this challenge made the month of June feel longer. Usually I constantly feel like I’m playing catch-up and the months just go by in a blink. (I think my procrastination has something to do with this.) But as I was compiling my June picture diary a couple of days ago I realised that I didn’t have that feeling this time. I think of June as a month filled with happy memories instead of simply wondering where the time has gone. I’m attributing the change to this challenge. I think it has increased my general awareness, I pay more attention to things and I feel more present in my own life, if that makes sense.

I never expected that the 100HAPPYDAYS challenge would have such amazing effects on my life. I mean, it’s such a simple, basic thing. I thoroughly encourage you to join if you haven’t yet, you might be pleasantly surprised too!

P.S If you are joining the challenge do let me know because I’d love to follow along and see what makes you happy every day!

Leave a comment

