A Cook’s Year in a Welsh Farmhouse by Elisabeth Luard

It’s no secret that I love the english countryside and I also love food memoirs and cookbooks. So when I saw Elisabeth Luard’s A Cook’s Year in a Welsh Farmhouse at the library I knew I had to read it. Ok so it’s set in Wales and not England, but from what I read, the welsh countryside is just as charming.

bookworm_luard1

I loved this book. It is divided in twelve chapters, one for each month of the year and each chapter starts with an essay followed by seasonal & very locally sourced recipes. The essays are simply beautiful and offer a very enjoyable look at life in a rural area, a glimpse of the everyday activities on a farm, and lovely family moments with Luard’s grandchildren. I was reading this book at night and it was so nice to be transported, even for a few minutes, to the farmhouse. Whether in the winter months when everything seems to be dormant and yet there’s so much to do, or in the beautiful summer months when nature bursts into colour, scent, life, it was charming. All the chapters were beautifully written, in a very simple and personal manner, because this is the author’s home and this is truly a whole year of her life.

bookworm_luard3 bookworm_luard2

As for the recipes, I was surprised to see how few recipes included meat. This isn’t a bad thing, really, we eat way too much meat, but I thought that living on a farm with sheep shepherds as neighbours would mean meat is on the menu every day. Instead, Luard seems to eat a very simple diet, probably not very different to that of farmers hundreds of years ago when meat was a rare luxury. And she really does stick to local ingredients that are in season, even in the winter months when nature’s offerings are not abundant. I was very impressed. I tried and loved her recipe for an asparagus tian (pictured below), and I also made a note of her recipe for elderflower cordial to be tested next week. There were also many nice looking recipes for jams and preserves, which is why I’ll be borrowing the book from the library again towards the end of the summer.

bookworm_luard4

All in all, I thought this book was really good. I loved being transported to the welsh countryside and reading about how it changes over the seasons. Most of the recipes were family recipes, or traditional of the area and they all promote living in harmony with nature. Simply lovely.

12 thoughts on “A Cook’s Year in a Welsh Farmhouse by Elisabeth Luard

  1. Mira says:

    I love elderflower cordial 🙂 I just had some when I visited friends a week ago. It’s one of my favorite drinks, if not my favorite drink 😀 I also love the idea of this book, as I often thought I’d enjoy spending a year on a farm to experience all seasons (possibly in 4 years). But that’s just wishful thinking 🙂

  2. Beth F says:

    This book looks beautiful. I love the idea of a year on a Welsh farm. I’m going to have to see if my library has this one.

    • Beth F says:

      They have a different Luard book — The Old World Kitchen. Next time I’m in town, I’ll at least thumb through it.

  3. joyweesemoll says:

    That looks like a beautiful cookbook! This would fit in well with the British Isles Friday post links, too.

  4. Cecelia says:

    Your note that it doesn’t have many meat recipes is actually very appealing to me – I want to know more about traditional ways to use vegetables! I feel like in America we’ve lost a lot of that knowledge, especially if you live with young people in the city (as I do). Thanks for sharing!

  5. Janel says:

    I love books like this. It’s like living vicariously and getting a peek into someone else’s kitchen. Always a bonus!

  6. Heather says:

    This looks like a gorgeous book! I’m going to have to look for it. I love the idea of following a farm for a year like this; it appeals to that seasonal eating idea I like to (try to) follow. I have a similar book, that I haven’t read yet, called The Curious Gardener: A Gardening Year by Anna Pavord. It is set in England.

Leave a comment

