Morning routine

As much as a like to sleep in (and I do like it a lot), I find that I’m much happier when I get up early and my mornings are relaxed and slow-paced. So here’s the weekday morning routine I’ve settled in lately.

bookworm_morning

My alarm goes off at 6:45 and I very reluctantly get up. If I start playing the snoozing game, all is lost. I get up and jump in the shower. I like using Lush soap; my favourite is Snow Globe which only comes out for Christmas so I stock up and then ration it throughout the year. Once I’ve showered, I start feeling relatively awake.

I then put on some leggings and a t-shirt and roll out my yoga mat. There’s often this beautiful light streaming in through the living room windows, it’s great for a bit of stretching and sun salutations. I sometimes put on a youtube video, my current favourite is Yoga with Adriene, but more often than not I just practise on my own. It’s amazing how big a difference a little bit of yoga in the morning makes.

I usually practise for 20-30 minutes, after that it’s time for breakfast. By that time The Boy is up too and we have our breakfast together. In the winter it tends to be either porridge or toast, but this week we’ve made the shift to the more summery granola with yogurt and jam. I always have at least one cup of tea with my breakfast.

Then, after I brush my teeth and wash my face, I get dressed, which always takes longer than I’d like. I sometimes try to pick my clothes from the night before as I suspect that would result in nicer, better thought-out outfits. On most days, I usually end up wearing skinny jeans, a t-shirt, and a cardigan, it’s my uniform of sorts. I haven’t been into my natural curls lately, so while I do my makeup I have the curling iron warming up. I like to play and have fun with makeup but for everyday I usually limit it to concealer, blush and mascara. And maybe a nice lipstick. If I only had to choose one product, it would be blush, I think. But please don’t make me choose.

I often get ready with a bit of time to spare. That’s when I make myself another cup of tea and settle down for some Pinterest action, or I just read. I really enjoy those relaxing moments before heading out. I think having time to joke around with The Boy, to read a chapter from my book, or to wake up my body with yoga is a lovely little luxury and I dare say it’s worth missing out on some sleep for it.

What do your mornings look like? Do you prefer to maximise on sleep or do you like a slow paced morning routine like mine?

P.S. No matter how hectic my morning, I never ever skip breakfast. Ever.

One thought on “Morning routine

Leave a comment

