My yesterday, seen through my Instagram lens

If you follow me on Instagram you may have seen that yesterday I posted a series of “a day in the life” photos. It was such a great day so I thought I’d share the pictures here as well.

bookworm_day1I started my day at about 8:30 am. There was the most beautiful light streaming in through the kitchen windows, it put me in a great mood right from the start. Breakfast was wholewheat toast with some delicious strawberry jam and lots of tea. I love using my dainty little teacups, it makes it easier to imagine that I’m living in a countryside cottage about 100 years ago.

bookworm_day2

Then I was off to one of my most favourite weekend activities, my yoga class. I truly relish that hour every Saturday morning. However, even though I was running a bit late, I had to stop and take a picture of our garden looking pretty in the morning sunshine. I made a mental note to have my breakfast out there when it warms up a little bit more.

bookworm_day3

After yoga and a light lunch, I cycled to the station and hopped on a train to Kingham. On of the best things about living in Oxford is how easy it is to get to the Cotswolds for a walk on a sunny day. Everything looked so lush and green from the train window, I couldn’t wait to get walking.

bookworm_day4

This is an old wisteria – covered mill I walked past right at the start of my walk, outside Bledington. With the bubbling stream, the apple orchard, and the cows and calves grazing in the next field, it is a rather picturesque scene.

bookworm_day5

A few miles later I had reached my destination: Foxholes wood, which this time of the year is full of beautiful bluebells. The forest floor is simply covered with a lovely carpet of these lovely flowers; I had so much fun walking around, taking pictures and just taking in the beauty.

bookworm_day6

Some paths in the woods were quite muddy; it took me some time to get out to the other side, and I looked a bit worse for the wear too. The view on the other side totally made up for it though. This is the quintessential English view in my mind, just green rolling hills as far as the eye can see.

bookworm_day7

A few more muddy lanes later I had reached Fifield, a typically stunning Cotswolds village. I dream of one day living in my own stone cottage in a village nestled in the Cotswolds hills.

bookworm_day8

Because of a slight mistiming I had to rush to get back to the train station but thankfully I made it just in the nick of time. Once back home I changed out of my muddy clothes and got to making beef and bean burritos for dinner. They were very quick and easy to make, all the prep needed was to chop one onion and grate a big pile of cheddar. And let me tell you, they were delicious!

bookworm_day9

I had a bit more ambitious plans for the evening but, by the time dinner was over I felt exhausted. I settled on the sofa next to The Boy and watched some tv, while treating myself to a little pampering session. Then it was off to bed. How’s that for a rockin’ Saturday night?

I really enjoyed sharing my day on Instagram. I think I’ll do it again soon. Do we follow each other on Instagram? My username is @abookwormslife. If you share your username in the comments I’ll make sure to follow you.

4 thoughts on “My yesterday, seen through my Instagram lens

  1. Rory says:

    I do follow you on instagram and it’s always very lovely. And there is certainly nothing wrong with Saturday night pampering – that’s what I did Friday night!

Leave a comment

