bookish: Do you have a favourite passage or quote?

One of my most favourite quotes comes from J.R.R.Tolkien’s The Hobbit:

“Then something Tookish woke up inside him, and he wished to go and see the great mountains, and hear the pine-trees and the waterfalls, and explore the caves, and wear a sword instead of a walking stick.”

It perfectly captures that feeling of wanderlust I often have, the intense desire to have adventures in far away places, just like Bilbo.

Of course, my beloved Bertie Wooster has so many brilliant thoughts. Here’s one that always makes me laugh:

“He looked haggard and careworn, like a Borgia who has suddenly remembered that he has forgotten to shove cyanide in the consommé, and the dinner-gong due any moment.”
-from Carry On, Jeeves by P. G. Wodehouse

He also offers some excellent relationship advice:

“Love is a delicate plant that needs constant tending and nurturing, and this cannot be done by snorting at the adored object like a gas explosion and calling her friends lice.”
-from Jeeves and the Feudal Spirit by P. G. Wodehouse

In fact I’m thinking of getting this last one printed and framed.

I’d love to hear some of your favourites!

3 thoughts on “bookish: Do you have a favourite passage or quote?

  1. booleangal says:

    “Tiger gets to hunt, bird gets to fly, man gets to sit and wonder why why why” – from Cats Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut. I love his words so much I have a handwritten book of his best quotes. This one is stuck in my brain.

  2. Alice says:

    I have some passages from Parade’s End I love – stuff that, like you’ve shared, really sticks with me.

    Unfortunately I don’t have the book to hand so I can’t share them.

Leave a comment

