Longing for the sea

bookworm_sea7 bookworm_sea6 bookworm_sea2 bookworm_sea5 bookworm_sea4 bookworm_sea1 bookworm_sea3 bookworm_sea8
I’ve been thinking a lot about the sea lately. I’m flying home for Easter next week, it’s been almost a year since the last time I was there. I was making a mental list of all the things I miss about that little corner of the Mediterranean and of course, the sea was one of them. This made me realise that I haven’t even seen the sea since my last visit, which made me long for it even more.
Living on a small island, the sea was such a blessing. I know this now, although at the time I probably took it for granted. Now I miss it. I miss walking barefoot on sandy beaches, feeling the sand between my toes and the sunshine on my skin. I miss searching for sea shells. And floating on the surface of crystal clear waters, soaking up the rays of the sun. I long for the feeling of salt on my skin, my hair tangled in carefree, beachy waves. I want to see the sun set and rise in the Mediterranean, and the moon creating silver glistening avenues on the waves. I can’t wait to eat freshly-caught fish, right by the sea. I can’t wait to hear the soft crushing of the waves and to smell the sea air. I can’t wait.

3 thoughts on “Longing for the sea

Leave a comment

