Saving meals for best?

On Tuesday night we had a really rather special dinner of sirloin steaks cooked medium rare, fluffy baked potatoes, delicious buttery bearnaise sauce, and a fresh green salad. It was so good! I was looking forward to dinner all day; it was easy to prepare and utterly satisfying to eat. It really made a dull, unremarkable day feel a bit special!

This got me thinking about special meals versus everyday dinners. I am all about cooking and eating something special when celebrating, whether it’s a birthday, Christmas, Easter, a promotion or an anniversary. I always think of meals like roast chicken or shoulder of lamb, salmon en croute, or steak as more appropriate for special occasions than weekday dinners. But that needn’t be the case.

Obviously, when cooking dinner during the week, time is a consideration so having a roast isn’t exactly practical. But things like steak and chips take very little time to make and there’s no reason they can’t sometimes be enjoyed on ordinary days as well as celebration meals.
I’m determined to mix things up a little bit; apart from the usual rotation of pasta, stir fry, risotto, and bangers/fishcakes and mash that make up most of our weekday dinners I want to try out new recipes, make something a bit “fancier”, something that feels like a treat. After all, I don’t believe in saving things like clothes or candles or crockery or cosmetics for best, so why do it for food?

What do you think about special meals on not special days? Do you liven up weekday dinners by having a treat?

11 thoughts on “Saving meals for best?

  1. MaryR says:

    I do think I tend to save special meals for occasions and there isn’t really a good reason for it. Special meals often take a bit more work, but some planning ahead might sort that out and looking forward to a good dinner you know is prepped and waiting for you can lift a blah day. While I’m at it I need to remember to use the fancy dishes too. After all, Wednesday can be a very special occasion.

  2. joyweesemoll says:

    Since I work from home, I don’t distinguish that much between weekday and weekend. Many of the dishes I make require some work earlier in the day. That said, we’re in a bit of a rut with our meal rotation and this post inspired me to think about how to make something more special!

  3. Laurie C says:

    My husband works from home and worked in restaurants in his younger days, so we usually have a nice meal! To me, it seems a bit much work for just the two of us, but I do appreciate it, especially when he does a lot of the kitchen clean-up as he goes!

  4. Trish says:

    Hmmm–I don’t know that I ever really cook fancy type foods but lately I have been cooking some dishes that take several hours to prep. They’re a lot of work but I know that my husband loves them and that makes me happy. The other day I did pick up some steaks for dinner and that was a nice treat but I didn’t do anything special to them to make them fancy. I think lately I’ve been focusing more on making things from scratch, so in a way we are treating ourselves.

    I’m terrible about using special things for ordinary occasions. I should do this more often. Why not, right?

  5. Cecelia says:

    I like the idea of making more ‘regular’ weekday meals ‘special,’ but I have a food storage limit – I share a little galley kitchen with two roommates, and my space just stretches to keeping fresh fruit & veggies on hand. I don’t even know where I’d put a cut of meat or a whole chicken. It would take some doing!

Leave a comment

