A couple of tips

I thought I’d share two little tips that I found helpful when cooking this past week.

  • First, this really surprisingly simple tip for perfect, foolproof poached eggs from my good friend E. Poaching eggs is pretty straightforward but I think making them pretty is a bit tricky. This doesn’t really bother me, as long as the egg is nice and runny and delicious all is well. However, if you have guests over and you want a nice looking as well as tasty breakfast/brunch for them, this tip pretty much guarantees your poached eggs will look pretty. It’s really straightforward: before you crack the eggs, simply place them in the boiling water for 15-20 seconds. Then remove them, wait a few seconds so that they cool down a tad, and proceed as normal. The few seconds in the water with their shells on mean that the eggs will be less likely to go everywhere when you poach them. Really simple, right?

bookworm_eggs

  • My second tip is about homemade pizza. I really like making my own pizza dough; I usually make a lot and separate it into 3-4 dough balls that I keep individually wrapped in the freezer. It’s so easy to take the dough out in the morning and then it’s only a matter of minutes to roll it out, stick toppings of my choice on top and bake it. I’ve noticed though that sometimes the middle part of my pizza would sometimes come out a bit soggy. I was watching an episode of James Martin’s Home Comforts the other day and he said that his pizza oven reaches 500 degrees Celsius. This made me suspect that the problem with my pizza was that my oven was not hot enough to bake it properly. Of course, I don’t have a pizza oven in my garden but as an experiment, when I was making pizza for dinner on Thursday I turned my oven temperature up as high as it would go, at 260 degrees Celsius. And guess what? My pizza didn’t burn as I feared; instead it baked perfectly: the crust was crispy, the base was cooked and not soggy and the cheese was melted and bubbling.

Do you have any little kitchen tips and tricks you’d like to share?

2 thoughts on “A couple of tips

  1. bmary says:

    Whenever I make bread, I heat the oven as hot as I can for at least 15 minutes and then bake the bread at that temperature for at least 3 minutes. After that I usually knock it down to the right temperature. It gives my breads a nice kick! 🙂

Leave a comment

