From my kitchen: Apple and cinnamon galette

This is something very simple that I’ve been making quite often recently. On most Sundays in winter I like to make a hearty, warming pie to have for dinner a couple of times in the week. (Lately, this recipe for beef and parsnip pie has been my favourite.) It seems that there’s always some leftover puff pastry after my pie-making, and this apple galette is a very easy and tasty way to use it up.

bookworm_galette7

While I love the flavour combination of apple and cinnamon, I’m very excited to try different variations of this galette depending on what’s in season. This week I think I’ll try it with some of the lovely, pink forced rhubarb that started appearing at the market, and later with strawberries or peaches or plums.

bookworm_galette1

It all starts with the pastry. Roll it out on a floured surface (I was lazy so I rolled it out straight on the baking tray). I try to keep it rectangular but it doesn’t really matter.

bookworm_galette2

Grab an apple and slice it thinly. Eat a couple of slices.

bookworm_galette3

Spread a little bit of apricot jam on the pastry. If your jam is quite thick it will help if you warm it up first.

bookworm_galette4

Layer the apple slices on top.

bookworm_galette5

Sprinkle some brown sugar and cinnamon on the apple slices and then fold the edges of the pastry over. If you want you can be neat and you could even crimp them but I always aim for a rustic look with things like this so I don’t bother (I’m lazy).

bookworm_galette6Bake for about 40 minutes and your galette is done! Enjoy it warm, on its own or with some cream or ice cream of maybe even a drizzling of caramel sauce.

Here’s the easy-peacy recipe:

galette

11 thoughts on “From my kitchen: Apple and cinnamon galette

  1. Beth F says:

    Easy! And a great way to use up puff pastry. We haven’t gotten any spring fruits in the market yet, but I noticed young, tender asparagus is back.

  2. Trish says:

    It’s beautiful! And I love your note to eat a slice or two. That definitely sounds like me when I’m baking (though I’m trying to teach my daughter to have better habits!). I bet a berry galate would be lovely! Hurry up summer!

  3. Cecelia says:

    Oh, this looks great! I hear you on wanting to eat pie in winter – it’s just a warm, filling food. I am going to have to look up that beef and parsnip recipe you mention. YUM.

Leave a comment

