When I grow up…

When I was around 4 years old, I wanted to be a housemaid when I grew up. Not a cleaning lady but a servant, a maid. I’m not sure where I got the idea and I doubt I realised what such a job actually was like but that was my dream. The funny thing is that I wanted to go to university and study to be a maid; I wonder what such a course would entail. At the same time, my favourite cousin dreamed of becoming a shepherd. We had a lot of fun discussing our prospective careers at the time.

I’ve since changed my mind dozens of times; I’ve entertained the possibility of being vastly different things from dance teacher to doctor to archeologist, some with more seriousness than others. To be honest I’ve still not figured out what I want to be when I grow up. I don’t have that singular passion about something that directs all my decisions, and so I can picture myself doing all sorts of things and being content if not happy. Sometimes I worry about this lack of direction, but most of the time I shrug it off and assure myself that I’ll work something out.

I wonder, what was your dream profession as you were going up? Did you have a passion and follow it through? Did you find yourself somewhere entirely unexpected? Are you still figuring it all out, like me?

One thought on “When I grow up…

  1. Literary Relish says:

    I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up…neither does my Dad, and he’s 55! Not worrying, working hard and going with the flow I find is the way to work it. I’m much happier when I just except a little lack of direction and just see what happens 🙂

Leave a comment

