Things I’m grateful for – A list

After yesterday’s thoroughly grumpy post I’ve been trying to focus more on the things that make me smile on these gloomy days. So here are the little everyday activities for which I’m grateful currently.

1. Practising yoga. I can’t afford to go to a yoga class more than once a week, so I’ve been doing a couple of sun salutations and some stretching every morning. It really does help; it makes me feel slightly more accomplished and motivated throughout the day.

2. Watching Gilmore Girls episodes. I think buying the dvd’s all those years ago is probably one of the best investments I ever made. I have watched every episode of every season many, many times and they have never stopped being entertaining and comforting. Rory’s bookishness, the quirky Stars Hollow residents, Lorelai’s wit, the constant pop culture references, the junk food, it’s all like a good dose on sunshine on days when the sun is not out.

3. Baking. In the last few days I’ve baked a white loaf of bread, a banana bread and an improvised apple galette. I think it’s the warmth and scent that fills the house; is there anything better that the smell of freshly baked bread? Eating delicious carbs on rainy days is not bad either.

4. Planning my garden. I’m really excited to pick what herbs and flowers I’ll plant this year. My garden consists of only half a dozen pots on the windowsill but every year it brings me so much joy.

One thought on “Things I’m grateful for – A list

  1. Trish says:

    I keep hoping that the Gilmore Girls episodes will be added to Netflix but it just doesn’t look like it! Everyone raves about this show (book lovers anyway) but I just don’t know that I can afford all the seasons.

    Gardening! I’m so looking forward to the warmer temperatures to plant a bit here as well.

Leave a comment

