A profound thought

Did you hear that it was Nutella day a few days ago? It seemed to take over my Pinterest feed as well as my blog reader. There were many, many blog posts last week with lots of Nutella baking ideas and recipes.

I hope what I’m about to say won’t be too controversial but, as much as I love Nutella, I think that using it in baking is always a little bit disappointing. It sounds amazing, and in theory it should be, but I don’t think baked goods that contain Nutella can compare to the divine experience that is dipping a spoon in the jar. That’s my number one way to consume Nutella (and that’s how I celebrated Nutella day), followed closely by a Nutella crepe.

Anyway, that’s my profound thought for today. If you are inclined to try some baking using Nutella here are some recipes that caught my eye: Nutella swirled Banana bread, Salted Caramel and Nutella cookies, Nutella rolls with Coffee glaze, Nutella and Sea Salt Chocolate Chip cookies.

2 thoughts on “A profound thought

  1. Nish says:

    I agree with you. Nothing quite like nutella on bread or on top of strawberries. I have always been disappointed when it is baked in a dish.

  2. Laura says:

    I’m actually kind of with you on this. I’m definitely a fan of pure nutella, rather than nutella mixed with flour and crap like that.

    Not that I’d turn down any of these theoretical baked goods, of course. But still.

Leave a comment

