The Big Bread Experiment

Have you guys been watching The Big Bread Experiment? I’ve watched a couple of episodes and I’m smitten! It’s such a simple production, no big names or fancy sets, just ordinary people who get together to bake bread. I think it perfectly captures the charm and therapeutic aspect of baking bread, and of course the lovely sense of community and friendship between the bakers. I love it!

It was actually a catalyst to get me back to bread baking. In the last few months I’ve been cooking and baking a lot, just not bread. I’m pretty sure that a year ago I was baking all the bread we consumed, and I was loving it, so I want to get back into it. I’m bringing my sourdough starter back to life – it has been hibernating in the fridge for a while, but I’ve started with simple white loaf. I’ve forgotten how simple and wonderful it is to have freshly baked bread at home; I love it straight from the oven with a good slick of butter, for breakfast with some nice jam or marmalade, or toasted to accompany stews and soups. And really, it does not bear any similarity to the pre-sliced stuff at the store.

Let there be bread!

P.S. I’m really keen to make some seville orange marmalade to have with my bread. Also, if you are interested, here are some tips and tricks for bread baking, and some of my favourite bread recipes.

2 thoughts on “The Big Bread Experiment

  1. Nish says:

    Ooh, thanks for the recipes. I have a new oven and have been thinking of baking bread for some time now. I am sure those tips and tricks will be useful as I am new to this.

Leave a comment

