Recipes to try

Last week I shared my most favourite recipes from my Tried and tested Pinterest board. Those are the recipes that I make again and again. However, I have way too many recipes that caught my eye but I have never actually made them. So I went through my Recipes to try board and found a bunch of recipes I really want to make soon. So here’s what I’m very intrigued to try in the next couple of weeks.

totry1

1. Magic sauce. The name alone is intriguing, but this sounds like such a simple and versatile sauce. I think it would be good to add to my repertoire.

2. Pan-fried gnocchi with roast tomato and basil sauce and crispy pancetta. This is a variation of one of my go-to weeknight meals with gnocchi. I love how quick it is to make and it’s so filling and comforting when all I want is a good dose of carbs.

3. Roasted chicken legs. I love chicken legs and I’m always looking for new ways to cook them so why I still haven’t tried this simple recipe is beyond me.

4. Roasted tomato soup with toasted cheese sandwich. This is basically a fancy version of  one of my favourite comfort foods. I usually go for a can of Heinz cream of tomato soup with a grilled cheese and mustard sandwich but I think this recipe might be worth buying tomatoes out of season to make.

5. Beef, mushroom and parsnip pie. This is exactly the kind of hearty, warming supper that I love for this time of the year. I think this will be good to add in the rotation along with current staples: boeuf bourguignon, chicken and bacon stew and sausage casserole.

totry2

6. Tea cakes. I know, I know. Why don’t I just go to the shop and buy tea cakes for a couple of pounds? I know this not is the most efficient thing to do but look how pretty they look. Plus it would be a good way to practise my piping skills which I always like to do.

7. Chocolate chip cookies. What’s different about this recipe is that it calls for chilling the dough for 24 hours or even more which sounds strange. It’s supposed to make a difference with the texture. I ought to give it a go although I don’t know if I can wait a whole day for cookies.

8. French silk pie. Doesn’t this look so inviting? I might try and find a more classic recipe for this one, not that I’ve ever had issues with any recipes by The Pioneer Woman. I would also make a pie crust from scratch because I’m good at it and it’s a confidence boost for me.

9. Chilled marbled chocolate cheesecake. This is a Mary Berry recipe, so you know it’s going to be delicious. I have never made a cheesecake, baked or chilled, and I’m dying to give it a go.

10. Chocolate and salted caramel mug cake. This is one of the myriad recipes of this kind that one can find on Pinterest. Obviously, the idea of making cake in a mug within a few minutes is very appealing but I worry if it would be inviting trouble, i.e. cake every night.

Have you tried any of these recipes? What new recipe are you keen to make?

Pictures taken from Pinterest.

6 thoughts on “Recipes to try

  1. Laurie C says:

    The best recipe for oatmeal cookies I’ve ever used called for chilling the dough, too. Good luck with trying out all your recipes! Pinterest is dangerous! I’m trying a recipe for Dressy Chocolate Truffles from a new cookbook today.

Leave a comment

