Toffee Chocolate Cookie Squares

It was really fortunate that at around the same time that I decided I wanted to make some edible Christmas gifts, I fell completely in love with The Pioneer Woman and her fantastic blog, and started reading her stories and going through her recipes. This is where I found the recipe for these Toffee Chocolate Cookie Squares.

I made them on a rockin’ Saturday night when I was all alone at home, with some Christmas songs playing and a cup of hot chocolate. They are not challenging at all to make and I can’t imagine anyone being disappointed to receive these.

bookworm_ediblegifts1

You start by creaming some butter and brown sugar, and add an egg and vanilla extract. Mix well. Then, add the flour, give it a mix and voila! the cookie dough is ready.

Spread the cookie dough on a cookie sheet and bake until it os nice and golden brown. The recipe says this should take about 15 minutes, it took slightly longer in my oven, maybe around 22 minutes. So just keep an eye on it.

bookworm_ediblegifts2

When the dough is done, remove from the oven and sprinkle a whole lot of milk chocolate chips on it. And i mean a lot. Naturally, you can use dark or white chocolate chips, whatever you (or the gift recipient) prefer. The chips will begin to melt; return the sheet to the oven for a few seconds.

bookworm_ediblegifts3

It only takes about 30 seconds in the oven for the chocolate to melt and then the cookies will look like this. For me, this was the hardest part of the bake. It was all I could do not to just grab a fork, sit down and eat the whole thing. Or just run my finger down the length of this beautiful, chocolate goodness. You’ve been warned!

bookworm_ediblegifts4

Thankfully, I found my inner strength and chopped some pecan nuts as a distraction. Actually, you need to chop quite a lot of pecan nuts. I was ready to sprinkle the nuts on the chocolate when I realised I hadn’t used any salt in the recipe. I read the list of ingredients just to make sure I hadn’t missed anything. I know that the nuts would add some saltiness but it didn’t feel like it would be enough. I use salt in everything I bake, I felt uncomfortable not using any in this case. Plus I particularly enjoy salted chocolate, and so does the recipient of these cookies, so I sprinkled some sea salt on the chocolate. Not a lot mind, maybe a couple of pinches.

bookworm_ediblegifts5

And then, you simply sprinkle the chopped nuts on the chocolate. Ta-daa!

Use a pizza cutter to cut it into squares (clever tip). I cut them quite small so I had around 30 pieces. Obviously, I had to quality-test the final product. One can’t just give edible gifts to people without ensuring they are at least edible and hopefully tasty. After eating 3 pieces I was convinced these were delicious. In fact, I briefly considered keeping them for myself and just buying a pair of socks to give away. They were so good! A thoroughly appropriate gift for the awesome person who’ll be receiving them as a Christmas gift.

If you want to make these cookies for yourselves or to give as gifts (which I highly recommend), here’s the recipe adapted slightly from  The Pioneer Woman.

cookie_recipe

Leave a comment

