Oy with the Poodles Already!

Do you have any favourite words or phrases? Ones that you can’t help but smile when you hear? There are some phrases that, no matter how rotten my mood, unfailingly make me smile.

First up is “willy-nilly”. It means careless and out of order so it’s not actually used to describe something positive but I think it’s funny. If you are trying to make me feel bad about doing something in a messy way don’t say “willy nilly” because it will just make me laugh.

Then there’s “pitter-patter”. It’s a series of light, tapping sounds, also known as my happy word. I associate it with the sound the kitten’s paws make on the wooden floor when in pursuit of a piece of string or my heartbeat when The Boy comes home from work every night.

A more recent addition to my favourite words is “namby-pamby”. I’ve got Roderick Spode from the Jeeves & Wooster novels to thank for this. Or maybe it’s only in the tv adaptation… Anyway. I never not laugh when I hear this phrase. The Boy has figured out the effect it has on me so he’s been making extra efforts to use it more often, bless him.

So tell me, what are your favourite funny words or sayings? Bonus points if you get the title of this post.

5 thoughts on “Oy with the Poodles Already!

  1. lipsyy says:

    Oy with the Poodles Already! ❀ Gilmore Girls. πŸ™‚

    This post made me smile. Hmm most of my favourite sayings have come from my mum. Including 'It's colder than a Witch's tit in here' (no, really!) and 'whatever floats your boat'. LOL.

  2. theshabbyrabbit says:

    Love Gilmore girls!
    I quote tons of movies and shows with favorite sayings… Legen… wait for it… dary! I use that. I have tons, but I can’t think of any right this second! that always happens to me!!

Leave a comment