A last glimpse of autumn

bookworm_woodstock1bookworm_woodstock21 bookworm_woodstock3bookworm_woodstock41 bookworm_woodstock5 bookworm_woodstock6bookworm_woodstock71 bookworm_woodstock11 bookworm_woodstock8bookworm_woodstock101

In my opinion, Woodstock is the ideal small town, rivalled only by my beloved Stow-on-the-Wold. I’ve visited quite a few times now as it’s a very short trip from Oxford but this last visit was particularly lovely. It was a cold and misty day but we were properly bundled up so we strolled around the adorable town centre, taking care to explore a few hidden lanes and peek into cottage gardens. The grounds of Blenheim Palace on the edge of the town are always stunning but, this time, The Boy and I made for the open countryside.

The hills were gloomy and beautiful, and the whole walk was very serene. We discovered the most magical dell in the woods, the ground was covered in fiery coloured leaves and the light had a golden warmth. I had one of those moments where I just feel incredibly lucky and grateful to be able to see such beauty. Interesting to note how most of those moments for me happen when I’m out in the countryside… When we walked past a farmhouse near Wooton, I was convinced we had stepped into heaven. The pond, the trees, the ducks, the horses… It was simply perfect. I think that was a glimpse of my dream life.

Upon returning to Woodstock we visited my favourite teashop, where we had warming soup and then shared a pot of tea and had treacle tarts. After a last stroll through the town and a couple of drinks by the fireplace in a cosy pub we made our way back home. All in all, it was a perfect last glance at autumn!

11 thoughts on “A last glimpse of autumn

  1. Charlie says:

    I love Stow-on-the-Wold, I’ve only been there a couple of times at Christmas, but it’s so beautiful. I’ve not been to Woodstock at all but it looks… I want to say cute πŸ™‚ I always find those moments occur in the countryside too. Towns and cities are great but pretty lacking in natural beauty.

Leave a comment

