Celebrating change

Yesterday marked the fourth anniversary of my move to England. Also known as, the best decision of my life!

bookworm_path

It’s perhaps a blessing that it all happened so suddenly, so quickly. There was no time to over-think, no time for compiling pro and con lists and definitely no time for feeling scared. I went from having no thought or intention of going anywhere, to boarding a flight to Heathrow in a matter of 6 days! It was such an unexpected and wonderful opportunity that I just went for it. Thinking back however, I almost can’t believe that it was I who did this! It was a thrilling life-change but also quite terrifying. I am so thankful that I didn’t let fear stop me because it was most certainly worth it.

bookworm_stjames

I’m all for rational, well-thought out decisions but, I don’t know, perhaps it’s sometimes good to act on instinct? To take a chance and make a change? Even as I type this, my sensible self begins to feel uncomfortable but I really do believe it. Uncomfortable can be good sometimes. And to do something scary, that has to be good. I’m so proud of my decision, my small act of bravery; it has led to such good things. Had I let fear and indecision stop me I would have missed out on so much.

bookworm_magdalen

This is just something I’ve been thinking about the last couple of days. What do you think? Do you take enough chances? Is there something that fear is keeping you from doing?

2 thoughts on “Celebrating change

  1. Charlie says:

    Congratulations Maria, it certainly sounds a change worth celebrating 🙂 I don’t take enough chances, though the biggest I took was similar to yours. It was only a holiday, but for me it was massive. I think the fear of what I want to do taking a lot of time, the fear that I might get it wrong, stops me. Baby steps.

Leave a comment

