Autumnal pursuits

It’s almost officially autumn and the weather here is definitely turning. So, as I sit under a wooly blanket sipping my tea, I thought I would make a list of some of the things I am most looking forward to this season.

bookworm_autumn

1. Photography. I think the light (when it’s not cloudy and raining) around this time of the year is so beautiful and it gives everything a really ethereal glow. I’ve been really enjoying photography for the past few years, so I’m very keen to take advantage of the light, go out and take multitudes of pictures preferably early in the morning or before sunset.

2. Apples. I just love crisp, zingy and sweet apples. Last year I accidentally came across a Victorian orchard on apple picking day and it was so lovely and fun! I have already made plans to return with a big basket this year. With my loot I want to bake pies, perhaps try my hand at making spiced apple chutney and, of course, eat them as they are.

3. Cosy days in. I like being out and about and I certainly have a soft spot for walking but when the weather changes I enjoy spending quiet days in. Ideally these days involve lots of reading on the sofa (with a blanket for guaranteed toasty toes), naps, watching old, favourite movies, baking something cinnamon-y, and many cups of tea (always out of vintage china because it makes me feel very English and old-fashioned).

4. Spiced flavours and scents in the kitchen. After all the berries and peaches and plums of the summer, I’m ready to change to warmer, comforting and more indulging flavours in my baking. Now is the time for recipes like this or this, and anything involving caramel.

5. Jumpers. One of my favourite things is to let myself get a little chilly and then put on a warm, cosy jumper. (Is that weird?) I just love the sensation of being enveloped in a soft wooly jumper and it is what I wear most often this time of the year. In my dreams all my jumpers are cashmere but, usually merino is the best I can do and it’s not bad at all. This season I’m excited to wear my polka dot jumper and the stripy one I borrowed (and not giving back) from The Boy.

What’s the weather like where you are? Are you excited for the new season? What are your favourite activities in the autumn?

8 thoughts on “Autumnal pursuits

  1. Literary Relish says:

    Lovely post! I really am more of an Autumn/Winter girl. We have a real fire in our new house so I am veeerrry excited to get that roaring. Reading, wearing hats, woolly jumpers, big boots. Driving the Landrover in the mud. Eating soup and baking cakes. Ooooo I can’t WAIT! I might have to revive the flip flops this weekend though as apparently it’s going to be warm again!

    • bookworm says:

      Ooh a real fire, I’m jealous! We have two fireplaces and I’m always wishing they were working ones… Oh well.
      Yesterday was very pleasant and warm indeed, I made the most of it and now I’m ready for autumn!

  2. Charlie says:

    I don’t think the jumper is weird at all πŸ™‚ I do similar, if uncoinciously, because I like to wear more summery clothes but inevitably end up pulling out a jumper. And as much as I’m a summer person, the idea of being forced to stay inside for a time is freeing. It doesn’t require planning!

    • bookworm says:

      Isn’t there something so delicious about a day spend indoors with absolutely no plans? Of course, reading of some sort usually takes place on days like these, and that’s not a bad thing! πŸ˜‰

  3. Lucia says:

    Great post! I’m excited for the new season too.
    Roasted chestnuts are probably the thing I like the most about Autumn. Oh, and I love cosy wooly jumpers. πŸ™‚

      • Lucia says:

        Yay!
        Great, thanks. It’s finished and I really like it. That’s another reason I’m excited about Autumn this year: I want to wear my new sweater everyday!

Leave a comment

