Weekend reading

bookworm_suffolk

Wow, long time no Weekend Reading post. I actually feel bad as I’ve neglected A bookworm’s life a little bit. It seems like life is a bit out of balance currently; I am constantly trying to do so many things, when I make progress with one thing something else falls apart. So I’m forever playing catch-up.

I spent a long weekend in the countryside at the start of this month and it was so nice to have a few days to relax and sleep in and go on long walks. One night The Boy and I went to a pub and played a few games of bar billiards (which I love, even though I’m rubbish at). On the way home, we were walking down this really dark country lane when I looked up and was just awestruck by the number of stars that were visible. So so many stars and we could even see a spiral of the Milky Way! I don’t mean it was anything like what they see at the ESO in Chile but it was still amazing. I think it would be nice if I would look at the stars more often. Isn’t it ironic that I work in astrophysics and I barely ever look at the stars?

Anyway, other than my rambling thoughts, here are some interesting things from around the web…

Black and white pictures given new life with colour.

I know I’ve mentioned them before, but I made these cookies this week and they are definitely still my favourite!

Also, baking makes you happy.

Pictures of human bodies that look like landscapes, amazing!

New restaurant bingo, fun!

What are your plans for this weekend?

Top picture: Young calves and their mothers in the countryside.
4 thoughts on “Weekend reading

  1. Lucia says:

    Yay πŸ™‚ your ‘weekend reading’ posts are back!

    My plans are studying (speaking of forever playing catch up…) and baking, my mom has got me quinoa flour last week and I have a recipe for a quinoa and potatoes focaccia, can’t wait to try it.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. bookworm says:

    How did the baking go? I love focaccia but I’ve never attempted to make it. Is it difficult to work with quinoa flour? I have a friend who is a celiac and can’t have gluten so I’m always trying to find appropriate baked goods to make when she visits.

    • Lucia says:

      I’m celiac too and if you ever need any gluten-free recipes or advices, feel free to ask!

      The result was quite different from the focaccia I usually make, but it went well and family approved. πŸ™‚
      Quinoa flour has a strong flavour (I could smell it while mixing the ingredients and, I have to admit, I was a bit worried!), I don’t think I would ever use it alone, but it was really good mixed with potatoes and a gluten-free mix I use for bread. Next time I’ll try adding cheese.

  3. Charlie says:

    That picture of Chile really confirms what I thought – my boyfriend and I went looking for the Milky Way this weekend, too (I’m guessing you saw more than we did!) and it was so faint, you really couldn’t see much at all. Other than that I visited relatives and made excuses to go out to enjoy the sun.

Leave a comment

