Cooking my way through… Miss Dahl’s Voluptuous Delights by Sophie Dahl – Buttermilk chicken with smashed sweet potatoes

I firmly believe that you can never have too many chicken recipes in your repertoire. Especially really easy ones that take just a teensy bit of preparing ahead and then come together in minutes. Sophie Dahl’s Buttermilk chicken with smashed sweet potatoes is one such recipe.

I put the chicken in the marinade and left it in the fridge for a couple of hours instead of overnight. I’m sure the longer you leave it the better it is but, even with just a few hours the meat was tender and juicy. I loved the combination of honey and mustard. Also, leeks are my favourite winter veggie and I’m basically serving them with everything.

bookworm_cmwt3

bookworm_cmwt4

bookworm’s variation: Yogurt is a good substitute for buttermilk, which is not that easy to find in the UK. A great variation of this recipe (perhaps better suited for warmer days) is to make the marinade with yogurt, garlic and lemon. Serve with boiled new potatoes tossed in olive oil, lemon and fresh parsley, and a crisp green salad. Perfect on a gorgeous, sunny day in the spring!

P.S. Here‘s my review of Miss Dahl’s Voluptuous Delights and here‘s my favourite recipe from it.

Buttermilk chicken with smashed sweet potatoes

from Miss Dahl’s Voluptuous Delights by Sophie Dahl
Serves 2
250ml of buttermilk
1/2 tsp of mustard powder (I use about 1 tbsp of Dijon mustard instead)
1 tbsp of honey or agave syrup
2 skinless and boneless chicken breasts
2 sweet potatoes
1 tablespoon of olive oil
salt and pepper
Make the marinade by mixing the buttermilk, mustard and honey. Cover the chicken with it and put it in the fridge overnight.
Preheat the grill. Wash the sweet potatoes carefully  and quarter them (leave the skins on). Cook in a saucepan of boiling water until tender (15-20 minutes). Remove them from the water and semi-mash them with a fork, some extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper.
Put the chicken in a grill pan and cook until the juices run clear (about 10 minutes on each side). Serve on the sweet potatoes.
25 thoughts on “Cooking my way through… Miss Dahl’s Voluptuous Delights by Sophie Dahl – Buttermilk chicken with smashed sweet potatoes

  1. Beth F says:

    Yummm. That combo of tart and sweet sounds really good. I may have to make this one soon. And I agree. Impossible to have too may leeks.

  2. Trish says:

    I’ve never made sweet potatoes this way before! Usually I cook in the oven–either baking or roasting them but I like how easy this seems. I usually make my own buttermilk. I always have to look it up but I believe it’s a tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice and a little less than a cup of milk (put in the T first and add milk to make a cup). Let it sit for a bit and it does the trick in a pinch. Yougurt sounds like a great substitution, too!

    • bookworm says:

      Yes, I’ve made a buttermilk substitute that way before, usually with lemon juice. But I am very fond of yogurt so I use it in my cooking and baking whenever I can.

  3. Carole says:

    We find it difficult to get buttermilk as well. I understand that a good substitute is to put some lemon juice into milk and leave it overnight. Cheers

  4. Janel says:

    I’ve often seen recipes for fried chicken that called for marinating the chicken in buttermilk. It seems I always buy too much when I need buttermilk for baking, so I’ll keep this in mind the next time I get some. It sounds easy and healthy.

Leave a comment

