Pin it and Do it v.8

Earlier this month I had serious chocolate cravings. I spent a few minutes on Pinterest before I found this recipe for Salted Caramel Brownies that sounded divine, by the Smitten Kitchen. It’s a pretty straightforward recipe, I was only a bit scared of making the caramel as I heard it’s very easy to burn it but, thankfully I didn’t have any issues with it.

There are a lot of warnings in the recipe about the brownies being a bit messy, and that’s true. While we were waiting for them to cool, The Boy actually said that they looked like a gooey mess. But then we tried one and it was just so very good! Like, I can’t even describe how delicious they were. The brownies were incredibly soft and chocolate-y and then there were little pools of smooth, slightly salty caramel in every bite. I’m getting a craving for them as I write. So, I may not have a picture of them (a brown, gooey square is not very photogenic) but I highly recommend this recipe. In fact, I will be making it again soon to try and make them more presentable.

Then last week, I wanted to make something easy for dessert so I tried Joy the Baker’s Chocolate and Peanut Butter Pudding. (I suppose salty and sweet is my kind of flavour combination.) Apart from the whisking, these are very easy to make. I loved how the two flavour layers looked and they were very tasty. Joy suggests topping them with whipped cream but I thought they were sweet enough as they were, and also I’m lazy, so we just had them plain.

bookworm_pudding1

bookworm_pudding2

The last pin that I completed was this one for Chipotle Sweet Potato Chips by the Minimalist Kitchen. They were deliciously sweet and spicy and salty and they worked wonderfully with a simple vegetable soup for lunch on a cold, grey day.

bookworm_chips1

bookworm_chips2

P.S. Here are my previous adventures with Pin it and Do it.

 

30 thoughts on “Pin it and Do it v.8

  1. jama says:

    You’re the second person I’ve read about this week who’s made and raved about those brownies! Looks like I have no choice but to make them too :). I agree it does sound tricky making the caramel part. The sweet potato chips look good too!

    • bookworm says:

      I was worried about the caramel burning so I just stood there and didn’t take my eyes off it until it was the right colour. But you should definitely try it!
      The sweet potato chips were delicious!

  2. Beth F says:

    Those chips sound wonderful! I’m definitely giving them a try. Isn’t it fun to try new recipes and techniques? Especially when they work out. 🙂

  3. thekeytothegate says:

    I am now having chocolate cravings after looking at your terrific photos! The chips look amazing as well. You can never go wrong with Smitten Kitchen or Joy the Baker!
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

  4. Laurie C says:

    Did you slice the sweet potatoes by hand? I don’t think I could slice them thin enough without a mandoline. Maybe my food processor would do it….They look delicious!

    • bookworm says:

      I used a mandolin, although I’m always terrified I will end up slicing my fingers off. I think it would be a bit tricky to try and slice them thin and even enough without one.

  5. Fiction-Books (@Fiction_Books) says:

    Hi Maria,

    Thanks so much for stopping by Fiction Books earlier today. I love ‘meeting’ new people and your visits and comments will always be welcome.

    I must admit that I don’t ever use salt in my cooking. So much of the food and sauces I buy as part of my regular shop, have far more than enough salt in them, that to add more would be to seriously overdose on the stuff.

    Having said that, I love the sound of the ‘peanut butter and chocolate pudding. Two of my favourite ingredients together in one dessert, although my favourite has to be a peanut butter sandwich. I don’t ever buy the stuff though, as hubbie doesn’t like it, so I would end up by eating the entire jar to myself, which is not good!!

    Have you ever tried the ‘peanut butter and chocolate spread?’, very gooey and decadent, but extremely yummy.

    A really enjoyable post, thanks for sharing and enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    Yvonne

  6. Fay says:

    Terrific photos. I made something similar to your sweet potato chips recently, and the recipe has been repeated several times since. So tasty.

  7. Trish says:

    We have a restaurant here that serves sweet potato chips rather than chips and salsa (do they do that over there at Mexican restaurants?) and I LOVE them so much but I’ve never tried to make them at home. I’ve repinned and might use the sweet potato on my counter for that. Also those caramel brownies–ZOMG.

    • bookworm says:

      I don’t think I’ve seen sweet potato chips at Mexican restaurant here. But they are really very good!
      The caramel brownies were just divine!

Leave a comment

