Miss Dahl’s voluptuous delights by Sophie Dahl

The cover looked so pretty that I was willing to ignore the fact that Sophie Dahl was a model, not a cook. To say that I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. It’s clear that she loves food; she grew up in a family of food lovers and for her, food is forever intertwined with memories and family and love.

bookworm_cmwt1

The book is separated into four seasons starting with Autumn, and then the recipes for each season are separated into Breakfasts, Lunches and Suppers (Dinners, if you are American). At the end there is a chapter for Puddings (which means all sorts of Desserts, not just pudding).

At the start of each chapter there are essays that document Sophie’s love of food, starting from her childhood. I loved reading these; she has had so many adventures and travels and she manages to connect them all to food. It was also interesting to read about how she got to a healthy body and a healthy body image and how that relates to her food choices. The writing is very indulgent and almost lyrical, and quite posh (as is the author) but not in an annoying way. I actually found myself reading this cookbook at night, in bed, like a novel. Another thing I loved were the wonderfully styled pictures, both of food and of Sophie, throughout Β the book.

bookworm_cmwt2

Her recipes are for the most part very simple; perhaps some of them feel a bit too simple for a cookbook, but they are always delicious. There’s a particular old-fashioned Englishness in them that I adored and, I appreciated that she’s all about seasonal eating. I will be showcasing my favourite recipes from this book, starting tomorrow with a recipe for delicious, crunchy granola.

31 thoughts on “Miss Dahl’s voluptuous delights by Sophie Dahl

  1. Rikki says:

    I will be watching your posts with reciped from it. Sounds like a good book, I am all for simple recipes that one can make in a short time.

  2. Beth F says:

    This looks so pretty. And seasonal cookbooks are great because that’s how I generally like to eat. Simple doesn’t bother me!

  3. jama says:

    Such a pretty cover — I’ve been anxious to see this and Sophie’s other books, since I’m such a big fan of her dad, children’s author Roald Dahl. Thanks for reminding me to put this book on my list again.

  4. Trish says:

    I have a cookbook that I just adore that has really simple recipes. Sometimes all it takes is seeing something written down to help inspire, you know? I also love the idea of seasonal eating.

    • bookworm says:

      Yes, I like that I don’t need any fancy cooking skills to make these recipes. it’s all about good quality ingredients that are in season and a simple way of cooking them.

  5. Carole says:

    Glad you posted about this because I would have been put off by her TV show which I only caught once and didn’t grab me. Like that she does the seasonal thing.

  6. Charlie says:

    Oo, that looks a nice book. There’s something about the photos you’ve taken, the pages look like it’d be pretty good, especially considering she’s not a cook per se.

  7. Michelle says:

    Ooh, I love a cookbook that is enjoyable to read. I’ve heard of her before and love that she eats seasonally. Like Giada she is beautiful to look at while she cooks! Thanks for this review-I could put this on my birthday wish list.

Leave a comment

