Snow days

I think if you live anywhere in the UK your weekend has been dominated by snow and ice and freezing cold weather. Perhaps because I come from a land of almost perpetual sunshine, I love this time of the year despite the chaos and disruption that usually come with snow. I just get really excited when I see big fluffy snowflakes falling from the sky, covering my neighbourhood with a white blanket.

bookworm_snowdays1

So on Friday, when the whole world seemed to be covered in icing I couldn’t wait to go out and explore. I put on my wellies, and about a dozen layers of clothing, and went out in the snow with The Boy. It was so nice seeing familiar sights like our neighbours houses, postboxes and the Oxford canal transformed by the snow.

bookworm_snowdays2bookworm_snowdays3

We of course had a snowball fight; I loved the feel of the fresh, powder soft snow between my hands.

bookworm_snowdays4

The sight of the nearby meadows made me gasp. It was as if someone had turned off all the colours and everything was white. We walked in the countryside for a little while and then it was back home to defrost.

bookworm_snowdays5bookworm_snowdays6bookworm_snowdays7

Do you get snow where you live? Did you enjoy this snowy weekend?

7 thoughts on “Snow days

  1. Charlie says:

    As someone who was born here I feel the opposite, I get very excited when the sun hangs around longer than a day :p That said I think I’d prefer snow days in Oxford, as all the history and the beautiful landscape surely makes it more interesting, and I do appreciate how much brighter the days are for all the whiteness. I’m looking at the second to last photo and thinking “wow”.

    • bookworm says:

      Well I have to say, I do appreciate sunny days more now than I did back home, they just feel so special because they are rare and I’m always trying to make the most of them.
      You’re right, it’s such a privilege seeing the medieval colleges and the countryside being transformed by the snow. It’s also an opportunity to create new traditions like taking a walk on the day of the first snowfall.

    • bookworm says:

      Haha I have to admit, fluffy snow is great but, slush and icy patches are not much fun. I’m using this week as a lesson in layering clothes and not falling over on ice ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. The Book Haven says:

    Here is someone from India and I plain envy you because I haven’t seen snowfall in my entire life ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Being a lazy and busy fella, I don’t get to travel much, so I guess I won’t see snow in coming years either ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a comment

