2012: Bookish thoughts

It is a great tradition of mine to look back and take stock of the year that ended. I also like to look at the bookish adventures of the past twelve months. I’m very happy that even though I didn’t read many books (this has definitely been a slow reading year), I actually liked, to varying degrees, all the books I read. However, I did manage to select my top five books of 2012, see them here if you are interested.

The Last Bookshop - fiction

One interesting, and very pleasant, thing about my year is that the book-inspired holiday looks like is becoming a trend. Just like 2011’s book-related countryside adventures, this year The Boy and I spent some time in the glorious English Cotswolds. I fell head over heels for this incredibly beautiful part of the world; it was even prettier than I imagined as I was reading Cider with Rosie. I wonder where books will take me in 2013…Have you ever been on a book-inspired holiday?

DSC01362

 Near the end of the year I discovered and joined The Classics Club. I’ve already read two of the books on my list and I’m looking forward to reading more in 2013. Have you joined? The first book off this list was a classic work of literature that I’ve been meaning to read for a very long time, Anna Karerina. Having now read this, as well as War and Peace, I have to say: if I were a writer I would have severe self-esteem issues because of Tolstoy. Don’t you think he’s just incredible?

bookworm_codrington4
bookworm_books

2012 was also the year I set myself a reading challenge for the first time. It was a disaster. I’ve since learned that I don’t deal well with strict time-frames (this wasn’t a big surprise) and that the time when I “have to” read a book will be precisely the time when I won’t feel like reading it.

I only bought 1 newly released book, that was The Casual Vacancy by J.K.Rowling. The rest were all £2 bookstore finds, gifts or library books. This fact makes me really happy for some reason.

I didn’t read any books in Greek, which is my native language, in 2012. This is a bit upsetting and I will try my best to rectify it this year.

Come to the comments and tell me all about your 2012 in books!

One thought on “2012: Bookish thoughts

Leave a comment

