Bookworm’s best books of 2012

This decision was very difficult as I seem to have fond memories of all the books I read in 2012. However once I selected the top five it was easy putting them in order, or at least choose my most favourite book of the year. I’m afraid I’ve been extremely negligent with reviews, only reviewed two of the books on this list, but I will try to at least review the rest soon. 
So here are my top books of 2012:

This was my Readathon book in the autumn. I bought it the weekend it came out as I really loved J.K. Rowling’s storytelling in the Harry Potter series and was eager to read it. I disliked a lot of the characters, but there were others that I just wanted to hug. There were times when reading this book made me very upset; it’s definitely not a pleasant read. However, it’s a brilliant story, thought-provoking and moving.
Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
I read this book in a day, which never happens to me. I vaguely remembered reading a review of it on Laura’s blog when I saw the cover at the £2 bookstore so I picked it up. Once I started reading I just couldn’t put it down; that’s such a wonderful feeling, isn’t it? It’s a very sweet story with likeable characters that had me hooked from the first chapter.
The Apple by Michel Faber
The Crimson Petal and the White was among my top books of 2011 and The Apple is a collection of short stories that follows it, offering a glimpse of the past and future of some of the characters of the book. It was as brilliant and absorbing as the book, it was another delicious window in the Victorian world.
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
Less of a Herculean feat than War and Peace, but with equally excellent writing and a classic story, it wasn’t hard to like Anna Karenina. It’s an epic story that took me a while to read but I didn’t mind because Leo can write! This was also the first book I read for The Classics Club.
The WInd in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
This book was sheer perfection! The Boy talked about it on a few of our countryside walks and I was sorry it wasn’t a part of my childhood too. The fact that there was a production of it at the Royal Opera House that I wanted to see was also great motivation to pick this up. Reading this book was magical, that’s the only way I can describe it and it thoroughly deserves the spot of my top favourite book of 2012!
Tell me which were your favourite books of the past year, I’d love to hear your recommendations.
10 thoughts on “Bookworm’s best books of 2012

  1. Charlie says:

    Good list of books! I’m looking forward to The Casual Vacancy, but I’ll definitely have to keep the not-pleasant aspect in mind. I had too many favourites to pick five (I tried to make it five but it was difficult), however the ones that come straight to mind are I Capture The Castle, Sleeping Patterns, and The Night Circus.

    • bookworm says:

      The Casual Vacancy deals with a lot of unpleasant and shocking topics but I think it’s very good. Just don’t expect it to be anything like Harry Potter. Let me know what you think of it. I read I Capture the Castle a couple of years ago and I liked it but something kept me from loving it. Maybe I’ll reread it at some point…

Leave a comment

