Pin it and Do it v.7 – Or a whole lot of pins

Apologies for the lack of posts recently. I’m a very bad planner and once the holiday season started I basically fell into a sugar coma. I have only just crawled out of my hibernation to do a quick post of pins that I’ve completed recently as today is officially the last day of Trish’s festive Pin it and Do it challenge. I have already posted about a Cinnamon Sugar Apple Cake as well as a DIY Sparkly Rustic Serving Tray if you want to check them out.

Holiday PinitDoit 2

A couple of months ago I somehow found myself joining in this hex-along thing on twitter, for which I completely blame Lisa (@lharsma) and Trish (@TriniCapini). I’m still not sure how it happened, but I went from only being able to sew on a button if necessary to visiting the fabric store and spending evenings making hexagons. I think most of the participants are planning on making quilts but I set my sights lower with a cushion cover. So far all I’ve got is a lot of cute hexagons so this is most definitely a work in progress.

I also wanted to do something crafty and festive. I saw these card reindeer in the December issue of Red and used their free pattern online to cut them. As I didn’t need nameplaces I just used them as table decoration. I bought three pieces of card paper in different hues of red, some stripy gold washi tape and some glitter. They were extremely easy to make and I think they turned out great.

bookworm_reindeer

Next up is Mary Berry’s Yule Log. I’m not a big fan of Christmas cake or pudding; I much prefer chocolate treats for the holidays. I had seen Mary make this in one of the special holiday episodes of The Great British Bake Off and it didn’t seem terribly difficult to make while the results was impressive. I was bit nervous about rolling the sponge but it was actually much easier than I expected. I think this is the kind of thing that you could make for a party and would really impress people while in reality is not challenging to make at all. I didn’t use a piping bag for the chocolate ganache on top but I think I still managed to make it look like tree bark with icing sugar as snow on top. Finally, I cut some holly from a bush outside my house to complete the look. I’m certainly very proud of my log!

IMAG0785 IMAG0787 IMAG0788

I completed a few other pins but either due to lack of time or simply forgetfulness I didn’t take any pictures but I thought I should still mention them. Jamie Oliver’s turkey and leek pie was a great way to use Christmas dinner leftovers. I really loved the gravy that came from the leeks and the bacon; it was a delicious meal. On Christmas Eve I remembered that I had meant to take something as a gift to our neighbours so I made these Cinnamon Sugar Cookies by Martha Stewart. I left the dough to rest in the fridge while I went to a carol service with my mum and then cut out the cookies when I got back. It’s a really straightforward recipe and I in fact kept half of the dough in the freezer to make another time as just one half gave a lot of cookies. I believe my neighbours appreciated them.

So this concludes the great festive adventure of Pin It and Do It. I’m already looking forward to the next round!

4 thoughts on “Pin it and Do it v.7 – Or a whole lot of pins

  1. Trish says:

    Your hexes!! Love them! And cushion cover sounds like a good idea–I’m scared to tally up how many hexes I’ll actually need!

    And the chocolate log cake looks delicious! My mom makes something similar but it’s always scared me to make on my own. 😉

    Thanks for playing along!

    • bookworm says:

      The quilt was just too intimidating, plus I have a history of not finishing projects so I wanted something relatively short-term. As for the chocolate log, it was surprisingly easy to make, you should give it a go!

  2. Charlie says:

    Sounds like this hex-along was a great idea, improving your sewing skills and the fun of going shopping. A cushion cover as a first attempt is a good plan. Reading how festive and crafty your Christmas was makes the Pin It and Do It challenge one to consider for next year here! Happy new year 🙂

    • bookworm says:

      Oh I highly recommend Pin it and Do it, it’s just so much fun! And it made me feel very accomplished every time I completed a pin. We should harass Trish to organise a new round soon 😉

Leave a comment

