Sunday chat

So Tuesday was my birthday and even though I wasn’t super excited about it (getting old, one step closer to 30, what am I going to do with my life? etc) I still had a really good time. The Boy took me out to a little French restaurant for dinner. My favourite course was dessert as we ordered the chocolate fondue for two. I am now convinced that’s the only way to eat fruit.

bookworm_birthday

It seems like there’s that end-of-year rush work wise so I try and squeeze all things fun in the weekends. On Friday The Boy and I were invited to a mince pies and mulled wine evening which was really nice. The hostess had made these delicious pies from scratch which inspired me to give it a go, probably next weekend. Yesterday I spent the morning decorating our stairs banister with Bridget Jones’ Diary on in the background. Being on a student’s budget means that I couldn’t go all out on Christmas decorations but I think I made it work. What do you think? I really like the little red robins. I also made some card paper reindeer decorations that I pinned here, but I’ll do a separate post about them.

bookworm_christmas1

Today was all about shopping for presents. I do try and do most of my shopping online, particularly for The Boy as I want to keep his presents secret, and I was dreading the crowds, but we went early on in the day and it was actually quite nice. I still have a few presents to buy, I haven’t found anything for my mum yet. I bought some brown paper from Poundland and some ribbon and stickers from Paperchase; I think wrapping presents is something that I’m exceptionally good at. An underrated skill I think.

bookworm_christmas2

So now it’s time to wrap presents and write Christmas cards while watching Elf, one of my favourite festive films. How has your weekend been?

9 thoughts on “Sunday chat

  1. Lucia says:

    I’m really good at wrapping presents too, it’s so fun! I agree, it is an underrated skill.
    You did a great job with Christmas decorations 🙂 and the reindeer nameplaces look cool (I’ve just pinned it!).

    • bookworm says:

      Yay for skilful Christmas wrapping!
      The reindeer nameplaces came out really nice and very easy to do. I’m actually just using them for decoration as there’s not going to be enough people at my Christmas table to keep track of seating arrangements.

  2. Charlie says:

    We may have spoken on Twitter about it, but I’m glad you had a nice day and dinner 🙂 Homemade mince pies are wonderful, being able to choose to add/take away amounts of ingredients makes them so much better. I’ve not made them before, but some of my family do. Love tinsel on stair rails, and love the design of yours! My weekend was starting the shopping (late, I know), and just enjoying the season – the music around, the happy atmosphere.

    • bookworm says:

      I’ve never made mince pies before, it seems quite hard to find a normal, classic recipe instead I see all these variations…
      I still have shopping to do as well, every year I say I’ll start early and I always end up looking for something on Christmas eve. Oh well.

  3. Trish says:

    There’s actually been a gift wrapping book floating around the quilting blogs that I read and it really has me re-evaluating my own wrapping! I love the idea of wrapping in brown packaging with colored ribbons. I did buy some Christmas scrapbooking paper to make my own tags this year–I should probably start on that sooner than later. 😉

    The garland looks beautiful! And the fondue yummy. 😉

    • bookworm says:

      I think brown paper and ribbons as a wrapping choice is wonderfully old-fashioned and nostalgic. Plus, my motto this Christmas is “festive but frugal” and it is unbelievable how much “fancy” wrapping paper can cost.
      I’d like to see your tags once you make them please!

Leave a comment

