Pin It and Do It v.6

It’s no secret that I’m obsessed with Joy the Baker’s blog. I love her writing and her pictures but most importantly the recipes that she comes up with are wonderful, easy to reproduce and so far I’ve only had great results.

I’m a big fan of the apple and cinnamon combination; it just feels so lovely in the autumn. This Cinnamon Sugar Apple Cake looked delicious and quite simple so I was eager to try. It was in fact very easy to make, I don’t have a stand mixer but the batter was very well behaved and not at all hard to beat.

Unfortunately, there was a bit of an issue once the cake was in the oven. I suspect that my cake tin is slightly smaller than it should have been or that I accidentally added more baking soda than I should have done or that my oven was hotter Β than I thought. Either way the cake started rising rather impressively and some of it actually escaped the tin.Another thing was that the middle of the cake was not fully baked at the specified time so I had to leave it the oven for an extra 15 minutes. Thankfully this didn’t dry out the rest of the cake.

I loved the way the whole house smelled while the cake was baking. The Boy could barely wait for it to come out of the oven to cut a slice. It was really very good; the buttermilk gave it a very light texture, and the apples were perfectly toasted with the cinnamon sugar on top. It definitely wasn’t the best looking cake. But so what?

One thought on “Pin It and Do It v.6

Leave a comment

