Sunday chat

Where did this week go? I’m sure we must have skipped over a couple of days, that’s the only way I can explain the many items I still have leftover on my to-do list. But I’m glad October is almost here, it’s a properly autumnal month which means argyle jumpers, foliage, wellies, wooly blankets and apple pies.

I joined Trish’s Pin It and Do It challenge again because I really enjoyed it last time (check out what I madeΒ here and here). I’m eager to try out some bread recipes so I’ve been busy pinning. I’ve only baked bread a couple of times before so there’s a lot of things I want to try out. Plus, I find kneading very relaxing. Do you bake your own bread? I’d love to hear about your favourite bread recipes!

I did a little shopping yesterday. I bought J. K. Rowling’s new book, The Casual Vacancy, which came out this week. I believe it’s the first full price book I bought in a very long time. I love the Harry Potter series; the brilliant, complete, detailed world that Rowling created was so pleasurable to read about, so I have high expectations for this one. I am staying away from spoilers and reviews until I read it. Are you going to read it? It will probably be my Readathon book, although I will only be able to participate for a few hours unfortunately. Do join if you haven’t yet, it is super fun!

Another thing I was really excited about this week, was Lucy Rose‘s first album, Like I Used To. She has this incredible, soft voice and a really special sort-of folksy sound. I’ve seen her perform live twice and i just can’t say enough good things about her. Plus, she sells her own, homemade jam at her gigs. How cute is that? Her album is really very good, although I’ve only listened to it once.

Now I’ve got to go check on my granola; I make it every Sunday and we have it with milk for breakfast all week. It’s so good, in my opinion much nicer than cereal and very easy to make as well. How has your week been? Come chat with me in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Sunday chat

  1. Charlie says:

    I’ve used a bread maker (or rather I’ve helped) but making it by hand sounds so much better. It’d be great to hear what you thought about The Casual Vacancy, such a mixture of critic opinion and GoodReads only has reaction to the news as yet. My week was busy, this one is going to be quieter and I’m looking forward to it.

    • bookworm says:

      Ooh I’ve never used a bread maker, I know they make the whole thing so easy but it just makes me really happy that I make bread the way my grandma has been making it for decades.
      I will be reading The Casual Vacancy on Saturday night, very much looking forward to it! Are you participating in the readathon?

  2. Trish says:

    Thanks for joining again Maria! And if you find any great bread recipes, please let me know. I’m new to bread but would really love to learn more.

    And yes, fall. Isn’t it such a delicious time of year? Love it!!

Leave a comment

