The Classics Club

How is it that I’ve only just discovered The Classics Club? It’s basically a place for people who read and blog about the classics to come together and what it more awesome than that? Nothing, exactly.

The Classics form a large part of my reading so I think this is the perfect place for me as I’m always looking to meet and interact with other bloggers with similar interests. Plus it is a bit of a challenge, as I have to read the books on my list and do a blog post about each one in the next five years.

I was practically hyperventilating while compiling my reading list, below. There are literally hundreds of books that I consider to be classic, spreading over so many different genres, that I felt quite overwhelmed. I wanted my list to not be enormous. I am by no means a fast reader so, I tried to be realistic about the amount of books, particularly classics, that I can read in five years.

I wanted my list to include works by authors that I’ve always felt intimidated by, like William Faulkner and Ernest Hemingway. Also included are books that I almost feel embarrassed not to have read like Little Women and Alice in Wonderland. And then there are works by authors that I consider to be among my favourites even though I haven’t read many of their works, like W. Somerset Maugham and Margaret Atwood.

This is by no means a list set in stone. If I find myself being really into the works of a specific author I will add more of their work to the list. Alternatively, if I just hate a book on this list it is entirely possible that any other books by the same author will remain unread.

So, below is my list of 55 books for The Classics Club. I am thrilled to start this journey! Let me know in the comments if you are also members of The Classics club (if you are not, why not join?) or if you’ve read a book from my list and you thought it was awesome/awful/whatever.

  1. Alcott, Louisa May: Little Women
  2. Atwood, Margaret: A Handmaid’s Tale (01/112013 review)
  3. Bradbury, Ray: Fahrenheit 451
  4. Bronte, Anne: Agnes Grey
  5. Bronte, Anne: The Tenant of Wildfell Hall
  6. Bronte, Charlotte: Jane Eyre
  7. Buck, Pearl: The Good Earth
  8. Burgess, Anthony: A Clockwork Orange
  9. Carroll, Lewis: Alice in Wonderland
  10. Chaucer, Geoffrey: The Canterbury Tales
  11. Chekhov, Anton: The Major Plays
  12. Collins, Wilkie: The Moonstone
  13. Collins, Wilkie: The Woman in White
  14. Dickens, Charles: Great Expectations
  15. Dickens, Charles: Hard Times
  16. Dickens, Charles: Little Dorrit
  17. Dickens, Charles: Tale of Two Cities
  18. Dickens, Charles: The Old Curiosity Shop
  19. Dostoevsky, Fyodor: The Idiot
  20. Dostoevsky, Fyodor: Crime and Punishment
  21. Dostoevsky, Fyodor: Notes from Underground
  22. Eliot, George: Middlemarch
  23. Faulkner, William: As I Lay Dying
  24. Faulkner, William: Light in August
  25. Faulkner, William: The Sound and the Fury
  26. Fitzgerald, F. Scott: Tender is the Night
  27. Fitzgerald, F. Scott: The Beautiful and Damned
  28. Fitzgerald, F. Scott: This Side of Paradise
  29. Forster, E.M.: Passage to India
  30. Forster, E.M.: Room With a View
  31. Grahame, Kenneth: The Wind in the Willows (20/11/2012 review)
  32. Hardy, Thomas: Far From the Madding Crowd (20/09/2013 review)
  33. Hardy, Thomas: Tess of the D’Urbervilles
  34. Hawthorne, Nathaniel: The Scarlet Letter
  35. Heller, Joseph: Catch-22
  36. Hemingway, Ernest: A Farewell to Arms
  37. Hemingway, Ernest: For Whom the Bell Tolls
  38. Hemingway, Ernest: The Sun Also Rises (25/04/2013 review)
  39. Hugo, Victor: Les Miserables
  40. James, Henry: Daisy Miller
  41. James, Henry: The Portrait of a Lady
  42. Kerouac, Jack: On the Road
  43. Lee, Harper: To Kill a Mockingbird
  44. Normal, Mailer: The Naked and the Dead
  45. Marquez, Gabriel Garcia: Love in the Time of Cholera
  46. Marquez, Gabriel Garcia: One Hundred Years of Solitude
  47. Maugham, W. Somerset: Of Human Bondage
  48. Mitchell, David: Cloud Atlas
  49. Montgomery, L.M.: Anne of Green Gables
  50. Salinger, J.D: Franny and Zooey
  51. Steinbeck, John: The Grapes of Wrath
  52. Steinbeck, John: The Winter of Our Discontent
  53. Tolstoy, Leo: Anna Karenina (13/11/2012 review)
  54. Wharton, Edith: The House of Mirth (31/12/2012 review)
  55. Wilde, Oscar: The Picture of Dorian Gray
14 thoughts on “The Classics Club

  1. Risa says:

    Welcome to the club! 🙂 it’s great that you found it. And that’s a nice list you have up there. We seem to have quite a few books in common. In fact, three or four us are reading Little Women together right now to score one more book off our classics list. 😀

    All the best with the Faulkner. I’ve always been nervous about trying him and I doubt I ever will! For the rest, I loved The Wind in the Willows, and I’m half way through the Anne series and enjoying it! I’m also, currently reading Far from the Madding Crowd, and though I’m going slow with it, it isn’t the books fault….it’s really quite nice so far. 🙂 oh! And I just finished reading One Hundred Years of Solitude….strange, intriguing!

    • bookworm says:

      I’m so excited to start reading The Wind in the WIllows. I’m thinking it might be one of my books for the upcoming readathon. I really want to see the royal ballet’s rendition of it too!

      • Risa says:

        Oh! I hope you’ll report it if/ when you watch the performance! I’d love to know what it was like. It’s a very beautiful story…makes one feel all warm and cozy. 🙂

  2. Trish says:

    I personally think that Les Miserables should count for five books since it’s the mother of all epics, but it’s such a fantastic read. I hope you fall in love with it as well.

    • bookworm says:

      Haha I know what you mean! I read War and Peace last summer – and it literally took me all summer long to do it- and it felt like I should count it as at least four books. I mean the weight of carrying it around in my back for three months alone…

  3. Charlie says:

    “Nothing, exactly.” Agreed. I’m considering joining the club since I heard about it, it’s just the listing of books making me think twice, even though doing it would actually get me reading them (your conditions are good). Best of luck with your list!

Leave a comment

