Sunday chat

I’m writing this on Sunday afternoon. It has been raining all day and there’s no sign of it stopping. Even though weather like this stops me from enjoying the great english countryside which I adore, I really like the cosy feeling of rainy Sundays. I think these are days made for lazing on the sofa with a blanket, a book and a cup of tea. Which is exactly what I’ve been doing.

I’ve also been enjoying some of the chocolate cookies I made yesterday. Melting butter and chocolate on a Saturday morning is pretty great, isn’t it? It was the first time I tried out this recipe by Martha StewartΒ and they are absolutely delicious. They are the soft kind of cookie, they have an almost brownie texture; it is such a struggle to not polish them all off. The Boy is a big fan as well, he declared them the best cookies he’s had.

Earlier this week I got an exciting delivery. I’ve been looking at this print on etsy for months now, and a couple of weeks ago I finally ordered it. I’ve been online friends with the photographer, Michelle Walls, for years and she is as lovely a person as she is an artist. Do check out her etsy shop, she has really pretty collections of postcards that I’m lusting over.

Now, I’ll make some more tea and get back to my book. In about an hour I’ll put my wellies on and walk with The Boy to the local pub for a nice roast and some newspaper reading. A lovely way to end the weekend, I think. What are you up to?

5 thoughts on “Sunday chat

  1. Bina says:

    Sounds like a lovely weekend, indeed! Have to make these cookies, too, they look delicious. At the moment I’m a bit obsessed with baking bread though πŸ™‚

    • bookworm says:

      The cookies come highly recommended, they are really really good! I’ve started experimenting with bread making as well, I really like the kneading process. Do you have any favourite bread recipes?

      • Bina says:

        I tend to let the kitchen aid do the first part of the kneading and the fun part by hand πŸ™‚ My favorite breads at the moment are parsley bread, provence bread and anything with spelt.

  2. Charlie says:

    Ok, now I’m hungry for chocolate cookies with none in the house. I agree the soft ones are best, and when you buy them from a shop they’re generally the biggest too. I had a roast too, though it was a quick one at home.

Leave a comment

