Armchair BEA: Introductions first

Well it’s the first day of the Armchair BEA and what’s more appropriate than introducing myself first? If you want to find out a few things about me you can read the about bookworm page, or my posts for last year’s Armchair BEA here and here.

And here are my answers to five of the introductory questions:

What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2012? I am currently reading A Boy of Good Breeding by Miriam Toews and I’m really enjoying it so far. As for my favourite book of the year so far, hm… That’s a difficult choice because I really enjoyed most of the books I read. I’ll say The Apple by Michel Faber because it gave me the chance to spend some more time with the memorable characters from The Crimson Petal and the White, which I devoured last year and loved.

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you. I have quite the active imagination which I think has something to do with being an only child and having to entertain myself growing up. So when I’m on a long train journey I might make up stories about my fellow travellers (when I’m not reading obviously) and when The Boy is watching football and I’m bored, I annoy him by coming up with all these silly back-stories about the players and the team managers. It’s fun!

If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why? Well this one is an easy question for me. I would really really love it if I could have dinner with Bertie Wooster or his creator P.G. Wodehouse. Bertie holds a special place in my heart and the wit of Wodehouse would probably keep me laughing all through dinner.

What literary location would you most like to visit? Why? Definitely Hogwarts. I love the Harry Potter series and Hogwarts is such a magical – literally – place. Alas, the 9 3/4 platform sign at King’s Cross is still only a spot for tourists to take pictures in front of. I have actually been on a bookish holiday last year and had a wonderful time. The destination was selected simply because it was mentioned in Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome.

What is your favorite part about the book blogging community? Is there anything that you would like to see change in the coming years? I truly love the sociable aspect of book-blogging. I’ve met so many lovely people in this community and it’s so nice interacting with them, whether it is by reading their blogs or by chatting about books or whatever on Twitter.

22 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Introductions first

  1. Ann Holt says:

    Nice, clean, easy to read blog. Makes me think mine needs some work. Can I join you at Hogwarts? There seems to be enough interest for a group!

    • bookworm says:

      Considering the current state of my desk, it’s quite surprising that my blog isn’t very cluttered… A trip to Hogwarts seems to be popular indeed!

  2. Sarah Says Read says:

    Making up lives for people is one of the funnest parts of people-watching! Also I read your “About Bookworm” page, yay for being a physics nerd!

    Happy ABEA!

  3. Vikki says:

    Happy Armchair BEA!

    Ha, I love that sign at Kings Cross even if it is just a tourist spot as you say. I still smile whenever I see it 😉

    • bookworm says:

      I think so 😉 On a more realistic note, I would love to visit Paris (it features in so many books I love, like The Razor’s Edge) or St Petersburg (War and Peace).

    • bookworm says:

      That’s true! Another great pastime of mine is thinking about how I would recreate popular films on no budget. Great ideas like filming Night at the Museum at my mum’s house or The house of flying daggers at the local park are a result of this…

    • bookworm says:

      Haha yes this the arrangement we aim for with The Boy, but usually I can’t stop laughing thinking about a tale I made up which I understand can be irritating… Hm… Happy Armchair BEA!

  4. Ellen ClarkeEllen says:

    Hi, I found you through Armchair BEA…isn’t it exciting to meet other book bloggers? I love your photos. My dad is from England and it makes me long to visit again! Also, my blog is also WordPress, and I can’t figure out how to add the Armchair BEA button to my blog…aargh! I see you’ve done it!

    • bookworm says:

      Whenever I travel anywhere in England I get carried away and take too many pictures. It’s just so pretty!
      About the button… That’s actually just an image I copied from the official site because I’m rubbish at html and I couldn’t get the button to work… 😐

Leave a comment

