Readathon: Wrap up post

6 blog posts,Β 49 tweets, 1 book, 348 pages, 2 mini challenges, 2 cups of tea, 1 pear, 3 breaks for stretching, 1/2 a bag of Doritos, 2 dancing breaks, 2 glasses of cranberry juice, 1/2 a galaxy bar, 1 little nap while reading…

Well that was fun, wasn’t it? I really enjoyed myself! I even managed to finish a book which is a readathon first for me. But mostly I loved the community feel of the whole event, the lovely social aspect that twitter adds and the brilliant mini challenges. And of course, it is so nice to discover so many great book blogs to read.

And here are my answers to the end of event questionnaire:

1) Most daunting hour was definitely hour 15 for me, which was at 3 am here. I was really sleepy, I actually fell asleep while reading for a couple of minutes, and it was just so difficult to keep my eyes focused on the page. Which is why at around 3:50, when I had finished my book, I gave up and went to bed.

2) I’ve had a great experience with Bill Bryson books on readathons, as well as P.G. Wodehouse ones. I mean, it’s hard to fall asleep when you are laughing most of the time, right?

3) Um, I suppose it would be nice if the people who stopped participating weren’t still included in the cheering lists later in the event, but other than that I didn’t have any complaints.

4) I really enjoyed the mini challenges, I thought they were really fun to do and they offered a very welcome break from all the reading. Also, following #readathon on twitter was great, it made me feel like a part of a bigger community, which is what this whole thing is about, isn’t it?

5, 6, 7, 8) I read one book, A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson. I thought it was wonderful, really entertaining and funny. I will be doing a proper review of it soon.

9) I did do some cheering, I was a proud member of team Polonius! I tried to visit five or so blogs on our cheering list every time I wanted a little break from reading and that seemed to work well. Also, twitter makes it really easy to chat to people and cheer them on.

10) Participate again? Just try and stop me! I will definitely be participating in the next readathon if I’m able to, it really is a great event! I think I would still like to be a reader and a cheerleader, or maybe even host a mini challenge.

How did your readathon go?

3 thoughts on “Readathon: Wrap up post

  1. Cassie says:

    I didn’t participate, but I loved reading everyone’s updates and it looks like you were totally successful. Doritos’s would definitely be my go-to late night readathon snack too. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

