Readathon preparation

Well, the Readathon is almost here and I’m super excited. I didn’t really have a lot of time to think about what books I’ll read or what snacks I’ll have, it’s all basically been done in the last hour or so.

I perused my bookshelves and picked up a few books for today.

A couple of poetry books on top. First, Selected Poems by Emily Dickinson which was included in my Readathon pile last year and I still haven’t read it. What can I say, I’m not big on poetry. The poems should make for easy reading when it’s late and I’m tired though. And then I also have Selected Poems by Edgar Allan Poe, for silly, dramatic interpretations of The Raven, Gilmore Girls-style.

Then one of my Β£2 bookstore finds, Cider with Rosie by Laurie Lee. I know nothing about the author or the book, but the blurb in the back sounds interesting. The next one is A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson, which I started yesterday and thought it was hilarious, so I really want to continue reading it. And the big, scary black one is Collected Tales and Plays of Nikolai Gogol which I’m supposed to be reading for my own 2012 challenge.

Oh, and here is a picture of my snacks. Is anyone surprised that Doritos made the cut?

6 thoughts on “Readathon preparation

  1. jehara says:

    You have an eclectic selection of books there. I’ll be reading from my own shelves today but I haven’t even pulled any books. Hopefully, I don’t take too long choosing books in between reads!

Leave a comment

