The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – A trilogy of five by Douglas Adams

No, there’s not a mistake in the title of this post. It’s just one of the many silly, weird and obscure things in this series. Which, when you think about it, is not so very odd. In a universe where anything and everything, no matter how crazy, has a probability to exist somewhere at some time, I’m sure that a lot of things do exist that would seem non-sensical to us.

So, this is a truly epic adventure. It starts with the Earth being demolished to make way for a new hyper-galactic bypass, which is a pretty awesome way to start a book if you ask me. And somehow a few very quirky individuals, carbon based and otherwise, find themselves traveling all over space and time, having unbelievable experiences, meeting even stranger characters, trying to make sense of it all.

All the books of the series are highly entertaining, it certainly looks like there’s a lot of kookiness in the universe. And I was really amazed by Douglas Adams’ seemingly unlimited imagination. He was able to create such fascinating, diverse and detailed worlds and incorporate them in a rather complex storyline. My most favourite bit of this series though were the really special characters. From Arthur, the Englishman who is having a bad hangover one moment and is hitching a ride on a Vogon spaceship the next, to Marvin, the depressed robot who I couldn’t help but love, all the humans, aliens and machines in these books are noteworthy in their way. They all have their background stories, wishes, fears, flaws and pet peeves and seeing them co-exist in this big, crazy universe was definitely a fun experience.

My favourite book of the five was the second one, The Restaurant at the End of the Universe, talk about the ultimate dining experience… Obviously, these books don’t belong to a genre I usually read, but I’m very glad I stepped out of my comfort zone this time. Actually, I think this series would appeal to readers of all ages and tastes, I highly recommend it.

2 thoughts on “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – A trilogy of five by Douglas Adams

  1. Lucia says:

    Great post!
    I read only The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, I enjoyed it so much and I can’t wait to read the other books of the “trilogy”.

Leave a comment

