2011: Bookish thoughts

I love looking back at the memories of 2011, particularly the bookish ones. I think  it was a great reading year, although perhaps not so much in numbers. I read some great books and I can honestly say I didn’t dislike any. Of course that doesn’t mean I loved each and every one, you can see my top 5 favourites of the year here.

In keeping with my habit of being behind the book blogging world’s trends, I read absolutely zero books published in 2011. However, rather surprisingly, I only read two books written in the 19th century, Cranford by Elizabeth C. Gaskell and War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. (And another one set in the 19th century, The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber).

And how about that? I actually read War and Peace! I’ve been meaning to read this for quite some time. It took me about three months and quite a few renewals at the library but I did it. I actually enjoyed it for the most part; I just had a few issues with some very slow chapters about war manoeuvres or philosophy.

2011 was also the year of great discoveries. I finally read some Isabel Allende (here) after years of ignoring my mum’s recommendations and reluctantly had to admit she was right. Which is why I promptly read two more of her books (here and here). I also read my very first Margaret Atwood book, The Blind Assassin, which I really liked, so I’ll make it a point to read more of her books this year.

I tried to step out of my comfort zone and read books I wouldn’t normally choose. This is probably in part because of The Boy. He’s the reason I started reading The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, a quite funny “trilogy of five” science fiction books which I’m really enjoying.

Unfortunately, in 2011 I read the last of my beloved Jeeves and Wooster novels, called Aunts aren’t Gentlemen, which I predictably adored. I plan on exploring more of P. G. Wodehouse’s books in 2012 because he is still the best way I can think of to lift my spirits no matter how low.

I’m sure this year will be even better reading-wise. I’m very excited to be hosting my very first reading challenge, have a look here and if you fancy it, join me!

What was your bookish 2011 like? Did you make any book related resolutions for this year?

Leave a comment

