Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson

Ah, my readathon book. I didn’t actually finish this during the readathon, I read the last 40 pages a few hours after the readathon was over but anyway. I liked this out-of -the-ordinary, little love story, I thought the book was utterly charming.

This book is about family and tradition, and love at perhaps a latter time in life than is common in books and movies. I think this makes it quite special. I can’t think of another book I’ve read with a similar topic. TheΒ fact that it’s set in a small English village alone was enough to win me over. Major Pettigrew, the hero, is adorable, a proper gentleman, with impeccable manners, very considerate and caring. And, just like the general feel of this novel, so characteristically English. This is a book where people boil the kettle and have tea on every other page.Β The plot did have some cheesy twists, but overall it’s a very well written and enjoyable book.

4 thoughts on “Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson

Leave a comment

