A bookish holiday

So, everyone knows how much I love the english countryside. I just love going for long walks down brambly lanes, through fields of wild flowers, in ancient, shady woods… It is no surprise then that I’m ridiculously excited for my upcoming long weekend in the countryside with my favourite walking companion, The Boy.

But this is not just an ordinary holiday. What’s special about it is that it’s a holiday inspired by a book! The Boy read Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome a while ago and kept saying how nice some of the places by the Thames sound. A few chapters in, and I agreed with him. Not only is the countryside really pretty, but there are numerous little towns and villages with quaint country pubs and parish churches, and there are boat rides on the river Β and… basically my idea of heaven.

Before I had even finished the book, we had booked a holiday in one of the little towns mentioned in the book. I would be excited anyway; a few days playing in the country away from the phd are always welcome, but I just love that the idea came from a book. So I was wondering if this is a rare thing. Have you ever been inspired to visit a place because it was mentioned in a book? Do you think that a holiday following the steps of a literary character sounds like fun or is that just me?

15 thoughts on “A bookish holiday

  1. readingwithtea says:

    This was actually a question on Booking Through Thursday or Musing Mondays quite a while ago. I haven’t ever gone anywhere because of a book, but it was pretty cool to read Shadow of the Wind which is all set in Barcelona, and know where everything was because we’d been on holiday there a year before!

    Quite tempted to go on a JKJ-inspired Thames-trip now though…

  2. Laura @ Bunny Tales says:

    I’ve read books because of somewhere I’ve been..that’s close right? πŸ™‚

    Oh and I’m jealous to my toenails of your holiday!!! lots of pics, lots of description on lots of blog posts!! please? else how can I live vicariously πŸ™‚

  3. Erin says:

    Oh my, that sounds delightful! The towns in that book do sound delightful, even if the book itself wasn’t quite my style. I hope your getaway is delightful! I’ve never specifically visited a place because of a book, aside from authors’ homes and such, but I love the idea and would definitely do such a thing should the opportunity present itself πŸ™‚

  4. Nymeth says:

    It’s definitely not just you – following the footsteps of a literacy character sounds wonderful to me! When I read Three Men in a Boat I had the same desire as you. I’ve yet to make it happen, though, so I hope you post lots of pictures when you return!

  5. jillian says:

    If I could, I totally would go to places where the books seem to take place! For example, the countryside, English castles, the Hamptons…. Hogwarts. Haha.

Leave a comment

