BBAW: Reading and Blogging

I wasn’t planning on participating in the Book Blogger Appreciation Week, besides reading great blogs and meeting lovely people on twitter that is, but I find today’s topic very interesting. Here it is:

β€œBook bloggers blog because we love reading. Has book blogging changed the way you read? Have you discovered books you never would have apart from book blogging? How has book blogging affected your book acquisition habits? Have you made new connections with other readers because of book blogging? Choose any one of these topics and share your thoughts today!”

So, I read a few posts today and noticed that a lot of book bloggers are saying that blogging not only changed how fast they read and how many books they read in a year, but it has also changed what kind of books they read. The former I totally understand, but I find the latter a bit strange since for me this has not been the case.

I’ve always liked reading the classics, and literary fiction books*. So it’s only very rarely that I’ll be reading a book that can be found in a ‘new releases’ list. Blogging has not changed that. I still read the books I would have read anyway. Which unfortunately means that I’m not reviewing terribly popular and ‘of-the-moment’ books, but I don’t mind that one bit.

Actually, I get a little peeved when all the posts in my google reader are reviews of the same newly released (or even not yet released!) book. And it more often than not happens to be a YA book. Which is totally fine, I’ve liked some YA books like The Great and Terrible Beauty trilogy, but isn’t there so much more than that? I know there are some brilliant bloggers (like Adam and Bina and Kristie) and a whole community out there who are not talking solely about YA books, I just think that we could have more variety. It seems to me that the majority of active bloggers like their YA literature a lot. So they are mostly talking about books I haven’t read and probably never will, which sadly means that I’m not as involved in the blogging community as I would like.

There also seems to be a lot of love for audiobooks, which I don’t share. I always felt that nothing beats reading a book, holding it in your hands and turning the pages. I know that audiobooks would allow me to ‘read’ a lot more books, which is something to think about, but for the time being I don’t mind that the number of books I read in a year is significantly smaller than that of other’s.

I suppose, basically, this post could be titled “On how stubborn I am” since I seem to be resisting any change to my reading habits. I would love to hear your thoughts on this. If you are a blogger, have your reading habits changed because of blogging? How?

*Of course, I do read books that belong to other genres occasionally.

10 thoughts on “BBAW: Reading and Blogging

  1. Alison says:

    I don’t think it’s that strange for blogging to change (or widen) people’s tastes. There have been several times I’ve picked up a book that I would have never read before blogging because a fellow blogger recommended it or really liked it. For me, that’s part of the fun of blogging!

    • bookworm says:

      Oh I didn’t mean strange as in I don’t understand how it could happen, just that it didn’t happen with me. I still like the same things I liked before, and that’s what I read. I totally agree with you, widening your horizon and maybe going past your misconceptions for a genre is a good thing, which is why I do occasionally read YA books recommended by others.

  2. carolinareads says:

    I’m one of those people that say that book blogging broadened their reading taste, but book blogging also made me find more time to read, and made me think more about the books I read.

    • bookworm says:

      Blogging has definitely made me want to read more. And it’s true that writing a review makes me think more about a book I’ve read and I find that it stays in my thoughts for longer.

  3. Erin says:

    Blogging has widened my tastes in that I’ve been exposed to more genres, authors, and publishers than I ever would have had I been left to my own devices. I’ll often try something and either like it or not, but at least I can add it to my reading experiences. So, I guess it hasn’t changed my tastes as much as made them broader and more diverse, which I like. And yeah…I’m one of those audiobook lovers. They’ve almost doubled the reading I can get done, and some of them are just so darn good! Plus, they make things like cleaning and doing laundry so much more palatable. But, they’re not for everyone, and I definitely took some time to get used to them.

    I do dislike it when everyone seems to be reading the same book at the same time. If I’m also reading that book, often I’ll wait to post my review until things have died down a bit, or I won’t bother posting one. I do enjoy reading backlist titles and am hoping to read more classics soon as I’m finding I don’t love reading new releases constantly — there are enough people doing that!

    • bookworm says:

      I think with audiobooks it would be easy for me to get distracted and not pay attention. I know that I should probably at least try it first, but so far my stubborness wins…

      Reading review upon review of the same newly released book is not my favourite thing either. I would like to see more variety in the book blogging world, but I’ve been thinking that there probably already is enough variety and I just haven’t discovered all the bloggers talking about classics and all sorts of books other than YA. Hopefully, with events like BBAW and the Readathon, and with the help of Twitter, I will.

  4. Charlie (The Worm Hole) says:

    You know, I actually admire that you haven’t changed, because changing your reading habits isn’t always a good thing (I’m thinking of worrying about keeping up-to-date – what’s interesting though is that reading classics kind of keeps you up-to-date because so many people have had time to read them). And I agree about the same book being reviewed at the same time thing, though I’ve sometimes not helped that.

    • bookworm says:

      Well, I think it’s a good thing if the interaction with all the other book bloggers enriches your reading taste and exposes you to new things. But because it’s easy to get caught up in reviewing new, popular releases you might end up not having time to read the kind of books you used to which is not very good I think…

  5. Kristie says:

    I’m so honored that you chose to include me in your post! πŸ˜€ I know that my reading selection has changed slightly since I began book blogging. I read more new releases than I used to. But I do manage to mix them into books that aren’t as popular.

    I think one reason I am reading more recently released books is because I’m reading more and more book blogs, so I get ideas from them. But I do steer away from book blogs that are heavily one-genre blogs (be it romance, inspiration, or YA). I have no interest in reading about basically the same kind of book over and over.

    Oh, as far as audiobooks go, they’re not my favorite kind of reading. But I do commute 30 minutes one way to and from work and, as I hate talk radio (especially in the morning), audiobooks save me πŸ™‚

    • bookworm says:

      Of course reading other book blogs and interacting with other bloggers will influence what you read (and will possibly make your TBR reach epic proportions). Isn’t this what is great about the book-blogging community?

      What I don’t really care much for is when I see the same book being reviewed everywhere, particularly when it is a vampire YA book which I guess is becoming my pet peeve lately…

      PS You need to get a Twitter acount! πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment

