War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

Well, I did it, I finally finished reading War and Peace. And just in time too, because I reached the renewal limit at the library.

This won’t really be a proper review, because, well, it’s War and Peace. It’s a classic, it’s epic, it’s beautiful, it’s long and at times almost impossible to read. It took me three months to read. I started with a decent reading speed, but when I was around halfway in I slowed way down, so slow that in fact I read another book. After page 700 I started feeling like I was actually capable of finishing and I sped up significantly. And then I got to the second epilogue, because one is not enough, and it was so boring it nearly killed me.

Here are a few of the many beautiful passages in this masterpiece:

“Had I said what I thought, I should have said: even if he had to go on dying, to die continually before my eyes, I should have been happy compared to what I am now.”

“We imagine that when we are thrown out of our usual ruts all is lost, but it is only then that what is new and good begins. While there is life there is happiness. There is much, much before us.”

7 thoughts on “War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

  1. lola says:

    I am reading Anna Karenina at the moment and it is difficult to get through, I also have “war and peace” on my list. I think 3 months is a great achievement!! X

Leave a comment

