The Chronicles of Narnia – Books 1, 2 and 3

I had not read The Chronicles of Narnia as a child and I really wish I had. They are exciting stories in an enchanting world which I would have really appreciated when I was younger. Still, even now, this book was fun and easy to read, I enjoyed it. My edition – which I got at a charity shop for one or two pounds – has the first three books in the reading order apparently recommended by C.S.Lewis. My book also has really pretty illustrations and maps, which I liked.

The first one, The Magician’s Nephew, is sort of the foundation for the story. It’s set in the 19th century when two children discover magical world and enter Narnia just as it’s being created by Aslan. It’s a rather simple story and not a lot happens in it, but I really liked the way the creation of Narnia was written and it definitely made me curious to read the next books.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is perhaps the best known book from the chronicles. I watched the movie a few years ago, which is not something I usually do if I haven’t read the book, so I pretty much knew what was going to happen. I was surprised to see how close the movie was to the book. I enjoyed the adventure of the four siblings in Narnia, even though just like the first book it felt like a story written for very young children.

In the third book, The Horse and his Boy, things started getting better. It’s a more complex story about a slave boy who escapes into Narnia along with a Narnian horse. This was by far my favourite of the three. Tashbaan, the great city, is described beautifully in the book and brought to mind grand cities straight out from Arabian Nights. The characters seemed more developed in this book, I loved Bree, the proud charger horse who in the course of this adventure discovers his flaws.

Reading this book was fun and very quick, it was a pleasant break in between the more serious books that I’ve been reading. I’m definitely going to read the rest of the books soon, I’m looking forward to being in Narnia again.

One thought on “The Chronicles of Narnia – Books 1, 2 and 3

Leave a comment

