This bookworm’s blog

This little blog started out as just a place for me to talk about books. At the time, I didn’t have many people in my life I could have literary conversations with, so blogging was an outlet for all my bookish thoughts, raves and rants.

What kept me blogging, albeit a bit sporadically at times, was the interaction with all the bookworms out there. I’ve met some wonderful people and I’ve come to think of them as friends, even though The Boy insists on making the distinction between real life friends and my β€œbook-friends” as he calls them. I don’t share his opinion. I mean, as time went by, I got to know not only what books they like and don’t like but also about their jobs, their pets, their lives. I talk to some of them on Twitter about everything under the Sun, practically everyday, which is a lot more often than I see some of my friends.

Eventually, I stopped blogging only about books and now I just write about anything, my travels, my studies, my shoes, The Boy. And because I fancy myself a photographer, I post many, many pictures. It feels like I’m sharing my life with good friends. This is why I’ve greatly enjoyed this ArmchairBEA, it was an amazing opportunity to meet incredible people and socialize, and even attend my very first Twitter party.

Anyway, I think I’m going to wrap up this random post and go read some of the many new blogs that are threatening to make my google reader explode. What do you love most about the book blogging world?

8 thoughts on “This bookworm’s blog

  1. Pussreboots says:

    My family separates out my “real” friends from my “book” friends too. Fortunately my family is fairly bookish too so I know they mean it in a nice way.

    To blog well you need to know: your topic, your audience and your voice. Come learn more.

  2. Laura says:

    That’s funny that he differentiates between us and rl friends! My girls say ‘mom’s talking to strangers on the internet again.’ cheeky things that they are. Your blog is beautiful!! Love your spring photos! Following.

  3. Lola says:

    I am so glad to find your blog, I feel the same re:lack of people to discuss books with, started uni this year and was shocked when I found out that there was no book club to join (and sad!!) I started my own book blog but it didn’t really take off so concentrate on the blog that kinda did!! I love reading, always have done!

Leave a comment

